[relevant_sector]

Biogas Initiative for Agriculture

Reducing emissions in the Serbian agricultural sector by fostering biogas technology for small and medium livestock farms.

Background

While the Serbian government does support biogas technology, the current policy framework is not appropriate for implementation on small and medium-sized farms. Thus, only manure from large agricultural operations is treated in biogas plants. However, the bulk of manure production from livestock in Serbia occurs on small and medium-sized farms. To significantly mitigate greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from livestock farming, it is necessary to advance implementation of biogas technology on small and medium-sized farms.

Biogas plant in Bavaria, Germany

Manure-based biogas plant in Bavaria, Germany; Photo: (c) Djatkov

Project

To achieve this, the project focusses on knowledge and technology transfer. The Serbian project partner organises two trainings for state authorities, professional associations, and farmers as well as two meetings of the key stakeholder groups, policy makers and investors from Germany and Serbia. Furthermore, it is in charge of investigating manure GHG mitigation potentials and of defining the prerequisites for sustainable technology implementation. Together, the project partners ensure the production and dissemination of information material for experts and the general public. Thus, they promote awareness and acceptance of biogas technology. The German partner organises a study tour for Serbian stakeholders to successful small biogas facilities in Germany. Additionally, it provides trainings for personnel in relevant ministries to adapt policy measures, for professional associations to give skilled feedback to state authorities, and for farmers to successfully implement biogas technology.

Low-cost biogas plant

Alternative low-cost biogas plant concept; Photo: (c) Djatkov

Project information

Updated: January 2021

Countries: Germany, Serbia

Project duration: 09/20 - 08/22

Funding: 101,477 €

Target groups: Governments, Private sector, Small and medium enterprises (SME)

Implementing organisation: Bavarian State Research Center for Agriculture (LfL)

Partners: University of Novi Sad - Faculty of Technical Sciences

Contact Person:

Mr Dr.-Ing. Mathias Effenberger

Organisation:

Bavarian State Research Center for Agriculture (LfL)

Address:

Vöttinger Straße 36
85354 Freising
Germany

Email:

mathias.effenberger@LfL.bayern.de

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

[relevant_sector]

Biogasinitiative für die Landwirtschaft

Reduktion der Emissionen im serbischen Agrarsektor durch die Förderung der Biogastechnologie bei kleinen und mittleren Viehzuchtbetrieben.

Hintergrund

Obwohl die serbische Regierung die Biogastechnologie unterstützt, sind die derzeitigen politischen Rahmenbedingungen ungeeignet für kleine und mittlere landwirtschaftliche Betriebe. Deshalb wird nur Gülle aus großen landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben in Biogasanlagen aufbereitet. In Serbien fällt der Großteil der Gülle von landwirtschaftlichen Nutztieren jedoch bei kleinen und mittleren Betrieben an. Um den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen in der Nutztierhaltung deutlich zu senken, muss der Einsatz von Biogastechnologie in kleinen und mittleren Betrieben vorangetrieben werden.

Gülle-Biogasanlage

Gülle-Biogasanlage in Bayern; Photo: (c) Djatkov

Projekt

Das Hauptaugenmerk der „Biogasinitiative für die Landwirtschaft“ liegt auf dem Wissens- und Technologietransfer. Der serbische Projektpartner organisiert zwei Schulungen für staatliche Behörden, Berufsverbände und Landwirt*innen sowie zwei Treffen von deutschen und serbischen Interessenvertreter*innen, Politiker*innen und Investor*innen. Weiterhin prüft das Projekt, wie die Treibhausgasemissionen von Gülle potenziell gesenkt werden können und legt die Voraussetzungen für den nachhaltigen Einsatz der Technologie fest.  Gemeinsam kümmern sich die Projektpartner um die Veröffentlichung und Verbreitung von Informationsmaterial für Fachleute und die breite Öffentlichkeit. Damit tragen sie zur Bewusstseinsbildung und höheren Akzeptanz der Biogastechnologie bei. Die deutsche Partnerorganisation führt eine Studienreise zu erfolgreichen Kleinbiogasanlagen in Deutschland mit den serbischen Interessenvertreter*innen durch. Zusätzlich bietet sie Schulungen für a) Mitarbeiter*innen der relevanten Ministerien an, damit politische Maßnahmen angepasst werden b) für Fachverbände zwecks qualifizierter Rückmeldungen an staatliche Behörden und c) für Landwirt*innen, damit sie die Biogastechnologie erfolgreich einsetzen können.

Alternative, kostengünstige Biogasanlage

Alternative, kostengünstige Biogasanlage; Photo: (c) Djatkov

Projektdaten

Stand: Januar 2021

Länder: Deutschland, Serbien

Projektdauer: 09/20 - 08/22

Fördersumme: 101.477 €

Zielgruppen: Kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMUs), Privatwirtschaft, Regierungen

Durchführende Organisation:
Bayrische Landesanstalt für Landwirtschaft (LfL)

Projektpartner:
Universität Novi Sad - Technische Fakultät

Ansprechpartner

Herr Dr.-Ing. Mathias Effenberger

Organisation: Bayerische Landesanstalt für Landwirtschaft (LfL)

Adresse:

Vöttinger Straße 36
85354 Freising
Deutschland

Email: mathias.effenberger@LfL.bayern.de

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de