[relevant_sector]

Humus per la Biosfera

Building up humus as a “climate gas sink” to bind carbon and enrich soil fertility in Sicily.

Context

Humus is the essence of fertile soil and thus an important contribution to food security. It also has the ability to bind carbon and thus reduce CO2 emission. Worldwide, in Europe, and especially in Sicily, the loss of humus is a serious problem. To counteract this development, municipalities, farmers, and individuals need to apply new approaches in waste management and agriculture.

Summer Landscape in Sicily

Sicilian Summer Landscape: ©Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung and Giacche Verdi Bronte

Project

The project team promotes humus growth in farms and gardens in the small-scale farming river valleys of Mount Etna, Sicily. These valleys constitute an important eco-corridor between three nature parks which are home to the wildcat and other species. Several activities aim at encouraging the return of organic matter from households and farms to the soil, thus binding carbon and enriching soil biodiversity and fertility.

On several trial plots, the project team works together with scientists and more than one hundred farmers to develop climate- and biodiversity-friendly organic farming methods that ensure the production and preservation of humus soil. This additionally contributes to the goals set in the Italian Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) Strategic Plan.

Furthermore, the team cooperates with 27 municipalities located within a planned biosphere reserve by providing guidance for an ambitious project: the establishment of a regional organic waste composting system for 140,000 inhabitants.

Finally, the project team supports environmental education for approximately 3,000 Sicilian schoolchildren by providing education material to schools, focusing on the potential of composting for climate action.  To accompany this, project members also assist the construction of schoolyard composters.

The project team includes 20-30 young volunteers from across Europe in all activities, making them multipliers who transport the lessons learned into their home countries.

Project information

Updated: January 2022

Countries: Italy

Project duration: 08/21 - 08/23

Funding: 195,800 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Educational institutions, Schools

Implementing organisation: Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung

Partners: Giacche Verdi Bronte

Contact Person:

Ms Stefanie Hermsen

Organisation:
Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung für Natur und Umwelt

Address:
Goebenstr. 1
28209 Bremen
Germany

Email:
infom-h-s.org

EUKI

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK). The EUKI call for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

Contact

European Climate Initiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10
10785 Berlin – Germany

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

[relevant_sector]

Humus per la Biosfera

Aufbau von Humus als „Klimagassenke“ zur Kohlenstoffbindung und Steigerung der Bodenfruchtbarkeit in Sizilien.

Hintergrund

Humus ist der Grundbaustein fruchtbarer Böden und damit ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Ernährungssicherheit. Er kann außerdem Kohlenstoff binden und damit CO2-Emissionen senken. Auf der ganzen Welt und insbesondere in Sizilien ist der Verlust von Humus ein ernstes Problem. Um dieser Entwicklung entgegenzuwirken, müssen Kommunen, Landwirt*innen und andere Akteure neue abfall- und landwirtschaftliche Ansätze anwenden.

Sizilianische Sommerlandschaft

Sizilianische Sommerlandschaft; Bild: ©Manfred Hermsen Stiftung und Giacche Verdi Bronte

Projekt

Das Projektteam fördert den Humusaufbau in landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben und Gärten in den von der kleinbäuerlichen Landwirtschaft geprägten Flusstälern des Ätna auf Sizilien. Diese Täler stellen einen wichtigen ökologischen Korridor zwischen drei Naturparks dar, in denen Wildkatzen und andere Arten leben. Mehrere Maßnahmen zielen darauf ab, organische Stoffe aus Haushalten und landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben zurück in den Boden zu befördern, um so Kohlenstoff zu binden und die biologische Vielfalt und Fruchtbarkeit des Bodens zu verbessern.

Auf mehreren Versuchsflächen entwickelt das Projektteam gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftler*innen und mehr als hundert Landwirt*innen klima- und biodiversitätsfreundliche ökologische Anbaumethoden, die den Aufbau und Erhalt von Humusböden fördern. Dies trägt zusätzlich zu den Zielen des nationalen Strategieplans zur Umsetzung der Gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik (GAP) in Italien bei.

Darüber hinaus arbeitet das Team mit 27 Gemeinden in einem geplanten Biosphärenreservat im Rahmen eines ehrgeizigen Projekts zusammen: der Schaffung eines regionalen Systems zur Kompostierung organischer Abfälle von 140.000 Einwohner*innen.

Schließlich unterstützt das Projektteam die Umweltbildung von etwa 3.000 sizilianischen Schulkindern mithilfe entsprechender Materialien für Schulen, die sich auf Kompostierung als Beitrag zum Klimaschutz konzentrieren. Begleitend dazu fördern die Projektmitglieder auch den Bau von Kompostern auf Schulhöfen.

Das Projektteam bezieht 20-30 junge Freiwillige aus ganz Europa in alle Aktivitäten ein und macht sie zu Multiplikator*innen, die das Gelernte in ihre Heimatländer tragen.

Projektdaten

Stand: Januar 2022

Länder: Italien

Projektdauer: 08/21 - 08/23

Fördersumme: 195.800 €

Zielgruppen: Bildungseinrichtungen, Schulen, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung (MHS)

Projektpartner:
Giacche Verdi Bronte

Ansprechpartner

Frau Stefanie Hermsen

Organisation:
Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung für Natur und Umwelt

Adresse:
Goebenstr. 1
28209 Bremen
Germany

Email:
infom-h-s.org

EUKI

Das Projekt ist Teil des Ideenwettbewerbs der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK). Der EUKI-Ideenwettbewerb wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH umgesetzt. Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Kontakt

Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10

10785 Berlin – Deutschland

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de