RENALDO – Rural Development through Renewable Energy Sources

Advancing the market penetration of the collective prosumer model in rural Poland.

Background

Innovative market models are important to ensure that a region’s transition towards renewable energy has beneficial impacts on the sustainable development of a local economy. Among them are so-called collective prosumer models – where energy cooperatives members are both producers and consumers of energy –, which have proven to encourage regional stakeholders in driving the energy transition forward. Given the lack of experience with energy cooperatives in Poland, lighthouse projects are needed to showcase how collective prosumer models can work, and which societal, economic and environmental related benefits can be created. These pilot projects in six selected municipalities can generate the necessary empirical knowledge to adapt existing regulatory and institutional setting in Poland.

Solar panel construction.

Setting up a photovoltaic plant. Photo: (c) Science n HD

Project

As a first step, the project develops a handbook on setting up and operating energy cooperatives; this is based on good practices from Poland, Germany, and other EU Member States and will be tested in two pilot communities in the provinces Podlaskie and Kuyavian-Pomeranian.

A second step aims at further refining the intervention and implementing additional energy cooperatives in four other communities in Podlaskie and Kuyavian-Pomeranian. In parallel, RENALDO supports the selected communities in the development of business plans ensuring the profitability of an energy cooperatives.

Third, a session with the relevant stakeholders serves to analyse the lessons learned from setting-up energy cooperatives. The findings support adjustments of the regulatory and institutional setting and good practices disseminated to other Polish regions.

Finally, several events ensure the dissemination of the project results to political decision-makers from other Polish regions and interested communities.

Project information

Updated: April 2021

Countries: Poland

Project duration: 10/20 - 01/23

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Governments, Regional governments

Implementing organisation: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Contact Person

Ms Paulina Spiller

Organisation:
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Address:
Reichspietschufer 20
10785 Berlin
Germany

Email:
paulina.spillergiz.de

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

[relevant_sector]

RENALDO – Ländliche Entwicklung durch Erneuerbare Energien

Ausweitung des Kollektiv-Prosumer-Modells im ländlichen Raum in Polen.

Hintergrund

Um sicherzustellen, dass der Übergang einer Region zu erneuerbaren Energien sich positiv auf die nachhaltige Entwicklung der lokalen Wirtschaft auswirkt, bedarf es innovativer Marktmodelle. Dazu zählen sogenannte Kollektiv-Prosumer-Modelle, bei denen die Mitglieder von Energiegenossenschaften sowohl Erzeuger*innen als auch Verbraucher*innen von Energie sind. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass diese Modelle die regionalen Akteur*innen dazu beflügeln, die Energiewende weiter voranzutreiben. Da die Menschen in Polen kaum Erfahrung mit Energiegenossenschaften haben, sind Leuchtturmprojekte notwendig, anhand derer verdeutlicht wird, wie Kollektiv-Prosumer-Modelle funktionieren und welche Vorteile sie für die Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Umwelt bieten. Diese Pilotprojekte in sechs ausgewählten Kommunen dienen der Generierung des notwendigen empirischen Wissens, damit die bestehenden regulatorischen und institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen in Polen entsprechend angepasst werden.

Aufbau einer Solaranlage.

Aufbau einer Photovoltaikanlage. Foto: (c) Science n HD

Projekt

Zunächst erstellt das Projekt ein Handbuch zur Gründung und zum Betrieb von Energiegenossenschaften. Es basiert auf Verfahren, die sich in Polen, Deutschland und anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten bewährt haben und wird in zwei Pilot-Kommunen in den Provinzen Podlachien und Kujawien-Pommern getestet.

Im zweiten Schritt werden die Maßnahmen präzisiert und weitere Energiegenossenschaften in vier anderen Kommunen in Podlachien und Kujawien-Pommern gegründet. Parallel dazu unterstützt RENALDO die ausgewählten Kommunen bei der Erstellung von Geschäftsplänen, um die Rentabilität der Energiegenossenschaften sicherzustellen.

Danach werden mit den relevanten Interessenvertreter*innen die von ihnen bei der Gründung von Energiegenossenschaften gemachten Erfahrungen in einer Besprechung analysiert. Diese Befunde dienen dazu, die regulatorischen und institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen entsprechend anzupassen und bewährte Methoden in weiteren polnischen Regionen anzuwenden.

Zum Schluss werden die Projektergebnisse politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen aus anderen polnischen Regionen und interessierten Kommunen auf mehreren Veranstaltungen vorgestellt.

Das RENALDO Projekt wurde im Rahmen einer Finanzierung durch das Structural Reform Support Programme (SRSP) der Europäischen Kommission und das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) ermöglicht.

EU Flag

Projektdaten

Stand: April 2021

Länder: Polen

Projektdauer: 10/20 - 01/23

Zielgruppen: Regierungen, Regionale Entscheidungsträger, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Projektpartner:
KPODR - Kujawsko-Pomorski Ośrodek Doradztwa Rolniczego, Stiftung 100 Prozent Erneuerbar, Stiftung ACTIVUS

Ansprechpartner

Frau Paulina Spiller

Organisation:
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Adresse:
Reichspietschufer 20
10785 Berlin
Deutschland

Email:
paulina.spillergiz.de

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de