Bridging European and Local Climate Action (BEACON)

Bridging European and Local Climate Action (BEACON) is a project promoting climate action and facilitating an exchange between national governments as well as municipalities and schools in Europe. The aim of the project is to strengthen bi- and multilateral cooperation and create common ambition to realise the Paris Agreement.

Fostering Low-Carbon Healthcare

This pilot project seeks to enable and support European hospitals to track emissions from their activities. In doing so, they will be able to quantify their environmental impact and set emission reduction targets. The project places specific emphasis on anaesthetic gases, as a relatively unexplored source of GHG emissions.

Dorf vor hügeligen Wäldern

Municipalities and schools from seven European countries work together on climate action

Five German municipalities have established climate action partnerships with five municipalities from Poland, Romania and Greece and launched cooperation pro-jects. These and 24 other municipalities from Portugal and the Czech Republic are participating in the project Bridging European and Local Climate Action (BEACON) supported by the European Climate Initiative (EUKI) of the Federal Environment Ministry. 55 schools from Romania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic and Germany are starting their cooperation projects at the same time. Exchanging experiences on effective climate measures and sensitisation to climate action issues in schools will be at the forefront of their work.

Förderung des kohlenstoffarmen Gesundheitswesens

Mit diesem Pilotprojekt sollen europäische Krankenhäuser in die Lage versetzt und dabei unterstützt werden, aus ihrem Betrieb resultierende Emissionen nachzuverfolgen. Auf diese Weise können sie ihre Umweltauswirkungen quantifizieren und Emissionsreduktionsziele festlegen. Das Projekt legt besonderen Wert auf Narkosegase als eine relativ vernachlässigte Quelle von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Bridging European and Local Climate Action (BEACON)

Bridging European and Local Climate Action (BEACON) ist ein Vorhaben zur Förderung von Klimaschutz durch den Austausch zwischen nationalen Regierungen sowie Kommunen und Schulen in Europa. Ziel ist, durch einen bi- und multilateralen Dialog zu einer gestärkten europäischen Integration beizutragen, um letztlich den gemeinsamen Anspruch zur Umsetzung des Pariser Klimaabkommens zu schaffen.

Dorf vor hügeligen Wäldern

Kommunen und Schulen aus sieben europäischen Ländern arbeiten beim Klimaschutz zusammen

Fünf deutsche Kommunen haben jetzt ihre Klimaschutzpartnerschaften mit fünf Kommunen aus Polen, Rumänien und Griechenland offiziell besiegelt und ihre Zusammenarbeit gestartet. Diese und 24 weitere Kommunen, auch aus Portugal und Tschechien, beteiligen sich an dem Projekt „Bridging European and Local Climate Action“ (BEACON), das die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI) des Bundesumweltministeriums fördert. Zeitgleich nehmen 55 Schulen aus Rumänien, Bulgarien, Tschechien und Deutschland ihre Zusammenarbeit auf. Dabei steht der Erfahrungsaustausch zu wirksamen kommunalen Klimaschutzmaßnahmen sowie die Sensibilisierung für Klimaschutzthemen in den Schulen im Vordergrund.