Conference room from above

Networking European Climate Action

In March 2019 the 2nd EUKI Networking Conference took place in Berlin. Participants exchanged views on environmental protection in the EU.

EUKI Webinar on Climate-Aligned Financing

3rd webinar by EUKI Academy focussed on climate-aligned finance. Alexandra Novikova and Andreas Schneller gave insights about their EUKI projects.

European Climate Initiative (EUKI) launches third call for project ideas

The German Federal Environment Ministry is launching the third call for project ideas under the European Climate Initiative (EUKI), running from 1 March to 12 April 2019.

The publication aims to explain what EU’s new renewable energy legislation means. It shows how EU legislation can help to remove barriers to community and citizen renewable energy.


EUKI Press Review 2/2018

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI) regularly produces a press review, which reflects the international reporting on the financing programme of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) and on the work involved in the projects. The selected articles are derived from submissions by project-implementing organisations and from in-house research. The second edition covers reporting from July to December 2018.

Download PDF (531.18 KB)


Report: Myths and facts about deploying renewables in the power systems of Southeast Europe

This study collects the most important myths about renewables deployment in the countries of South East Europe. It explains in a fact-based manner the advantages of renewables and shows how renewables integration into the SEE power systems can be successful and benefits of low-cost renewables can be reaped.

Download PDF (4.48 MB)

South East Europe Energy Transition Dialogue


Discussion Paper: A Just Transition for All or Just a Transition

The discussion paper raises the question what might a global Just Transition that keeps 1.5°C within reach look like. The authors argue that four aspects need to be considered. A transition is only just if it is a Just Transition for all. A transition is only just if it is fast enough to keep 1.5°C in reach. Just Transition debates are needed in all sectors of the real economy and finance. Climate ambition and Just Transition are not a question of either/or.

Download PDF (415.36 KB)

Accelerating the Energy Transformation of Central and Eastern Europe and Learning from the German Experience


Report: Funding the Just Transition to a Net Zero Economy in Europe: Opportunities in the Next EU Budget

The next European Multi-Annual Financial Framework (MFF) has the means to underpin Europe’s support to help achieve a just transition to a net zero carbon economy. This report aims to assess the Commission’s recently released sectoral proposals for the period 2021-2027. It explores the contribution of several instruments – Cohesion Policy Funds, European Social Fund Plus, InvestEU, Horizon Europe and European Globalisation Adjustment Fund – to the just transition agenda. It also identifies options for the EU regulator to better align funds with this agenda.

Download PDF (928.43 KB)

Accelerating the Energy Transformation of Central and Eastern Europe and Learning from the German Experience


EUKI Press Review 1/2018

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI) regularly produces a press review, which reflects the international reporting on the financing programme of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) and on the work involved in the projects. The selected articles are derived from submissions by project-implementing organisations and from in-house research. The first edition covers reporting from January to June 2018.

Download PDF (614.28 KB)

Konferenzraum von oben

Europäischen Klimaschutz vernetzen

Im März 2019 fand die 2. EUKI-Vernetzungskonferenz in Berlin statt. Teilnemende tauschten sich zum Umweltschutz in der EU aus.

Mugs with EUKI logo

Zweite Vernetzungskonferenz der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative

Im März 2019 fand die 2. EUKI-Vernetzungskonferenz in Berlin statt. Eingeladen waren Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Projekte aus ganz Europa.

Powerpointpräsentation mit Sprecher

EUKI-Webinar zu klimafreundlicher Finanzierung

Das dritte Webinar der EUKI Academy drehte sich um das Thema klimafreundliche Finanzierung. Praktiker berichteten aus ihren Projekten.

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI) startet dritten Ideenwettbewerb

Das Bundesumweltministerium gibt den Startschuss zum dritten Ideenwettbewerb der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI), die vom 01.03 bis zum 12.04.2019 läuft.

Die Broschüre erklärt, was die neue EU-Gesetzgebung für erneuerbare Energien bedeutet. Sie zeigt, wie die EU-Gesetzgebung helfen kann, Hindernisse für erneuerbarer Bürger- und Gemeisnchaftsenergie zu beseitigen.


EUKI-Pressespiegel 2/2018

Die Europäische Klimschutzinitiative (EUKI) erstellt in regelmäßigen Abständen einen Pressespiegel, der die internationale Berichterstattung zur EUKI und den finanzierten Projekten abbildet. Die ausgewählten Artikel kommen aus Zusendungen von Projektdurchführungsorganisationen und eigenen Recherchen. Die zweite Ausgabe bildet die Berichterstattung der Monate Juli bis Dezember 2018 ab.

Download PDF (552,72 KB)


Studie: Myths and facts about deploying renewables in the power systems of Southeast Europe (Englisch)

Diese Studie gibt einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Mythen zum Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien in den Ländern Südosteuropas (SEE). Sie erläutert faktenbasiert die Vorteile erneuerbarer Energien und zeigt, wie die Integration in die Energiesysteme in SEE erfolgreich sein kann und wie die Vorteile kostengünstiger erneuerbarer Energien genutzt werden können.

Download PDF (4,48 MB)

Energiewende-Dialog in Südosteuropa


Diskussionspapier: A Just Transition for All or Just a Transition (Englisch)

Das Diskussionspapier wirft die Frage auf, wie ein weltweiter gerechter Übergang, der das Ziel 1,5°C im Blick behält, aussehen könnte. Die Autoren argumentieren, dass vier Aspekte zu berücksichtigen sind. Ein Übergang ist nur gerecht, wenn er ein gerechter Übergang für alle ist. Ein Übergang ist nur dann sinnvoll, wenn er schnell genug ist, um das 1,5°C-Ziel zu erreichen. In allen Bereichen der Realwirtschaft und der Finanzen sind gerechte Übergangsdebatten erforderlich. Klimaambitionen und Just Transition sind keine Frage von Entweder-Oder.

Download PDF (415,36 KB)

Die Energiewende in Mittel- und Osteuropa beschleunigen und von den deutschen Erfahrungen lernen


Studie: Funding the Just Transition to a Net Zero Economy in Europe: Opportunities in the Next EU Budget (Englisch)

Der nächste Europäische Mehrjährige Finanzrahmen (MFR) ermöglicht die Unterstützung Europas für einen gerechten Übergang zu einer Netto-Null-Kohlenstoffwirtschaft. Ziel dieser Studie ist es, die kürzlich von der Europäischen Kommission veröffentlichten sektoralen Vorschläge für den Zeitraum 2021-2027 zu bewerten. Die Autoren untersuchen den Beitrag mehrerer Instrumente – Kohäsionsfonds, Europäischer Sozialfonds Plus, InvestEU, Horizon Europe und Europäischer Fonds für die Anpassung an die Globalisierung – zur gerechten Übergangsagenda. Außerdem werden Optionen für die EU-Regulierungsbehörde aufgezeigt, damit Mittel besser an die Agenda angepasst werden können.

Download PDF (928,43 KB)

Die Energiewende in Mittel- und Osteuropa beschleunigen und von den deutschen Erfahrungen lernen


EUKI-Pressespiegel 1/2018

Die Europäische Klimschutzinitiative (EUKI) erstellt in regelmäßigen Abständen einen Pressespiegel, der die internationale Berichterstattung zur EUKI und den von ihr finanzierten Projekten abbildet. Die ausgewählten Artikel kommen aus Zusendungen von Projektdurchführungsorganisationen und eigenen Recherchen. Die erste Ausgabe bildet die Berichterstattung der Monate Januar bis Juni 2018 ab.

Download PDF (539,08 KB)