EmpowerClimate

Reducing municipal energy consumption through climate and energy management (CEM) in the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Background

Municipalities account for a large share of GHG emissions. Establishment of municipal CEM systems are an effective tool in reducing their energy consumption, as they include the deployment of new technologies and of renewable energy sources. Thus, they effectively contribute to a large-scale reduction of emissions. EmpowerClimate expects an annual reduction of five per cent per municipality over the next decade.

Polygon Smart City Workshop in Plzeň, Czech Republic.

Polygon Smart City Workshop in Plzeň, Czech Republic. Photo: (c) Miroslav Šafařík

Project

The project enables municipalities to become active participants in fighting the climate crisis by generating awareness and knowledge about climate change, climate action, and their inherent challenges and opportunities. The establishment of CEMs are an efficient tool in this regard, as they offer a structured framework for monitoring and improving municipal energy performance and efficiency.

To this end, the project follows a threefold approach. First, it prepares and conducts training programmes for at least 14 new climate and energy managers in the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Second, it establishes CEM systems in three Czech and three Slovak municipalities. The project supports the municipalities in the systems’ maintenance and in the deployment of renewable energy sources. Third, it establishes the “Climate and Energy Management Network”. Within this framework, the project organises two training programmes, a study trip for Czech and Slovak participants to German best-practice municipalities, and two peer-review trips inviting experienced German climate and energy managers to Czech and Slovak cities. Through these means, the network connects municipalities in the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Germany.

Project information

Updated: January 2021

Countries: Czech Republic, Germany, Slovakia

Project duration: 07/20 - 06/22

Funding: 276,186 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Experts, Regional governments

Implementing organisation: PORSENNA o.p.s.

Partners: CITENERGO - Association of Cities and Municipalities for Energy Efficiency, Institute for Climate Protection Energy and Mobility (IKEM), SEMMO - Association of Local Energy Managers

Contact Person:

Mr Vítězslav Malý

Organisation:
PORSENNA o.p.s.

Address:
Michelská 18/12a
140 00 Prague
Czech Republic

Email:
opsporsenna.cz

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

EmpowerClimate

Kommunales Energiemanagement (kEM) zur Reduzierung des Energieverbrauchs in Tschechien und der Slowakei.

Hintergrund

Kommunen haben einen großen Anteil an den Treibhausgasemissionen.  Da beim kEM neue Technologien und erneuerbare Energiequellen zum Einsatz kommen, ist die Einführung kommunaler kEM-Systeme ein effektives Instrument zur Senkung des Energieverbrauchs.  Damit tragen sie effektiv zu einer starken Reduktion der Emissionen bei. EmpowerClimate geht davon aus, dass die Emissionen im Lauf der nächsten zehn Jahre um fünf Prozent pro Kommune sinken.

Polygon Smart City Workshop in Pilsen, Tschechische Republik

Polygon Smart City Workshop in Pilsen, Tschechische Republik. Foto: (c) Miroslav Šafařík

Projekt

Das Projekt ermöglicht es den Kommunen, aktiv am Kampf gegen die Klimakrise mitzuwirken, indem es dafür ein Bewusstsein schafft und Wissen über den Klimawandel, Klimamaßnahmen und die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen und Chancen vermittelt. Kommunales Energiemanagement ist in dieser Hinsicht ein effizientes Instrument, da sie einen strukturierten Rahmen für die Überwachung und Verbesserung der kommunalen Energiebilanz und -effizienz bieten.

Deswegen verfolgt das Projekt einen dreigleisigen Ansatz: Erstens werden Trainingsprogramme für mindestens 14 neue Klima- und Energiemanager*innen in Tschechien und der Slowakei vorbereitet und durchgeführt. Zweitens werden kEM-Systeme in je drei tschechischen und slowakischen Kommunen eingeführt. Das Projekt unterstützt die Kommunen bei der Wartung der Systeme und beim Einsatz von erneuerbaren Energien. Drittens wird ein kommunales Energiemanagement-Netzwerk gebildet. Im Rahmen dieses Netzwerks organisiert das Projekt zwei Trainingsprogramme, eine Studienreise für tschechische und slowakische Teilnehmer*innen zu deutschen Kommunen, wo ihnen bewährte Praktiken vorgestellt werden, und zwei Peer-Review-Reisen, zu denen erfahrene deutsche Klima- und Energiemanager *innen in tschechische und slowakische Städte eingeladen werden. Auf diese Weise verbindet das Netzwerk Kommunen in Tschechien, der Slowakei und Deutschland.

Projektdaten

Stand: Januar 2021

Länder: Deutschland, Slowakei, Tschechische Republik

Projektdauer: 07/20 - 06/22

Fördersumme: 276.186 €

Zielgruppen: Experten, Regionale Entscheidungsträger, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
PORSENNA o.p.s.

Projektpartner:
CITENERGO - Städte- und Gemeindeverband für Energieeffizienz, IKEM - Institut für Klimaschutz Energie und Mobilität, Sdružení energetických manažerů měst a obcí

Ansprechpartner

Herr Vítězslav Malý
Organisation:
PORSENNA o.p.s.

Adresse:
Michelská 18/12a
140 00 Prag
Tschechische Republik

Email:
opsporsenna.cz

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de