ESCT 2020 – 9th European Conference on Sustainable Cities & Towns

Supporting cities, towns and local governments in implementing the EU climate policy in a manner to ensure a socially acceptable and economically viable move of society towards net-zero emissions.

Background

Nearly 80 percent of people residing in the European Union live in cities. It is therefore essential for local leaders, civil society actors, politicians and businesses to do their part in implementing the global climate goals locally. These are the very people that were brought together at the “Mannheim 2020” conference.

The ESCT conferences act as an interface between the European Union, relevant international institutions as well as national and local sustainability movements and plays a key role in defining what a climate-neutral, sustainable city should be like and what measures have to be taken to achieve this goal.

ESCT is the largest conference on sustainable development in Europe. Its mission is to foster the exchange of experiences and knowledge among cities and to gather information on local climate activities. It thus offers an opportunity to provide important stimuli for sustainable urban development to achieve climate neutrality.

Speakers at the Green Deal plenary.

Speakers at the Green Deal plenary. Photo: (c) City of Mannheim

Project

The 9th European Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns took place from 30 September to 2 October 2020. The conference was jointly organised by the largest network of sustainable cities and towns, the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI) and the city of Mannheim. Due to the corona pandemic a virtual conference had to be held which included live contributions by the host city. In the course of the three-day conference well over 1,500 people came together to witness the contributions made by more than 150 speakers. During the conference the “Mannheim Message” – a call for local governments to be fully integrated as partners into policy-making – was delivered to the European Commission.

Project information

Updated: April 2021

Countries: Germany

Project duration: 08/20 - 12/20

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, EU Institutions, Regional governments

Implementing organisation: City of Mannheim

Partners: ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability e.V.

Project Website:
conferences.sustainabl...

Contact Person:

Mrs Agnes Schönfelder

Organisation:
City of Mannheim

Address:
Rathaus E 5
68159 Mannheim
Germany

Email:
agnes.schoenfeldermannheim.de

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

ESCT 2020 – 9. Europäische Konferenz nachhaltiger Städte und Gemeinden

Städte und lokale Regierungen als Akteurinnen der EU-Klimapolitik stärken, um die klimaneutrale Transformation der Gesellschaft sozialverträglich und wirtschaftlich zu gestalten.

Hintergrund

In der Europäischen Union leben beinahe 80 Prozent der Menschen in Städten. Deshalb ist es unerlässlich, dass lokale Führungspersönlichkeiten, Akteur*innen der Zivilgesellschaft, Politiker*innen und Unternehmen ihren Beitrag leisten, die globalen Klimaziele auf lokaler Ebene umzusetzen. Die Konferenz „Mannheim 2020“ hat sie zusammengebracht.

Als Schnittstelle zwischen der Europäischen Union, relevanten internationalen Institutionen sowie der nationalen und lokalen Nachhaltigkeitsbewegung, spielt die Konferenz eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Definition, wie eine klimaneutrale, nachhaltige Stadt aussehen sollte und welche Prozesse dafür in Gang gesetzt werden müssen.

Die ESCT ist die größte Konferenz über nachhaltige Entwicklung in Europa. Ihre Mission ist der Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen Städten und die Informationssammlung über Aktivitäten auf lokaler Ebene. Damit bietet sie die Chance, wichtige Impulse für die nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität zu setzen.

Sprecher*innen im Green Deal Plenum.

Sprecher*innen im Green Deal Plenum. Foto: (c) Stadt Mannheim

Projekt

Vom 30. September bis 2. Oktober 2020 fand die 9. European Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns statt. Veranstaltet wurde die Konferenz vom größten Netzwerk nachhaltiger Städte, dem International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI), in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Mannheim. Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie wurde sie im digitalen Format ausgerichtet, mit Liveanteilen aus der Gastgeberstadt. Über die drei Konferenztage fanden sich mehr als 1.500 Teilnehmende zusammen um den Beiträgen von mehr als 150 Vortragenden beizuwohnen. Im Zuge der Konferenz wurde die „Mannheim Message“ – ein Aufruf, lokale Regierungen als vollwertige Gesprächspartnerinnen in die Policy-Gestaltung zu integrieren – an die Europäische Kommission übergeben.

Projektdaten

Stand: April 2021

Länder: Deutschland

Projektdauer: 08/20 - 12/20

Zielgruppen: EU Institutionen, Regionale Entscheidungsträger, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
Stadt Mannheim

Projektpartner:
ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability e.V.

Projekt Webseite: conferences.sustainabl...

Ansprechpartner

Frau Agnes Schönfelder

Organisation:
Stadt Mannheim

Adresse:
Rathaus E 5
68159 Mannheim
Deutschland

Email:
agnes.schoenfeldermannheim.de

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de