[relevant_sector]

Green(ing) H2

Engaging civil society in the process of making European hydrogen infrastructure green, fair, and sustainable.

Background

Hydrogen (H2) is projected to play a key role in a future climate-neutral society, enabling emission-free transport, heating, and industrial processes as well as seasonal energy storage. However, hydrogen is not per se climate-neutral. If not designed with a focus on sustainability, both its production and its logistics bear the danger of dependency on fossil fuels as well as of competition for water and renewable energy. In Europe, the policy debates on hydrogen have been dominated by representatives from the energy industry, who have not adequately articulated these dangers. An informed and engaged civil society can contribute to the respective policy debates and hold decision makers accountable, ensuring that further advancement of hydrogen strategies focuses on truly sustainable hydrogen.

.

Helping Hands

Collaborating for a common goal ©; Photo: Bob Dmyt

Project

The project team targets organised civil society – such as NGOs, think tanks and associations – on EU level as well as in Poland, Germany, and Portugal as countries which hold key roles in advancing the hydrogen industry in Europe. To empower civil society to actively engage in the hydrogen debate, the project team focuses on two activities. The first step is to build a cross-European network of organised civil society actors who are interested or involved in green(ing) hydrogen at the European and national levels, encouraging and facilitating exchange of knowledge and perspectives. This network constitutes the basis for the second step, which is to – as a collective – develop guidelines for policy makers. These guidelines aim to propose solutions for designing sustainable hydrogen markets and infrastructures. The project members disseminate these guidelines among civil society organisations and among government ministries so that the guidelines support the policy processes that pave the way for the further advancement of truly net-carbon free hydrogen. Through its efforts, the project team contributes to unleashing the full potential of green hydrogen for climate neutrality.

Project information

Updated: March 2022

Countries: Germany, Poland, Portugal

Project duration: 10/21 - 09/23

Funding: 284,999 €

Target groups: Civil Society, Governments, Private sector

Implementing organisation: ZERO - Association for the Sustainability of the Earth System

Partners: Instrat Foundation

Project Website: -

Contact Person:

Mr Pedro Nunes

Organisation:

ZERO – Association for the Sustainability of the Earth System

Address:

Av. de Berna 31 2º Dto. Sala 6
1050-038 Lisboa
Portugal

Email:
zerozero.ong

EUKI

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK). The EUKI call for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

Contact

European Climate Initiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10
10785 Berlin – Germany

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

[relevant_sector]

Green(ing) H2

Die Zivilgesellschaft dafür einbinden, die europäische Wasserstoffinfrastruktur grün, fair und nachhaltig zu gestalten.

Hintergrund

Wasserstoff (H2) wird voraussichtlich eine Schlüsselrolle in einer zukünftigen klimaneutralen Gesellschaft spielen, da er emissionsfreie Transport-, Heiz- und Industrieprozesse und eine saisonale Energiespeicherung ermöglicht. Wasserstoff ist jedoch nicht per se klimaneutral. Wenn Herstellung, Einsatz und Logistik nicht nachhaltig konzipiert werden, besteht die Gefahr der Abhängigkeit von fossilen Brennstoffen und der Konkurrenz um Wasser und erneuerbare Energien. In Europa waren die politischen Debatten über Wasserstoff bislang vor allem durch Vertreter*innen der Energiewirtschaft geprägt, die diese Gefahren nicht ausreichend kommuniziert haben. Eine informierte und involvierte Zivilgesellschaft kann einen Beitrag zu den jeweiligen politischen Debatten leisten und relevante Akteure zur Rechenschaft ziehen, damit die in Zukunft entwickelten Wasserstoffstrategien wirklich nachhaltig sind.

Helping hands

Helfende Hände für ein gemeinsames Ziel; © Foto: Bob Dmyt

Projekt

Das Projektteam wendet sich an die organisierte Zivilgesellschaft – wie Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Denkfabriken und Verbände – auf EU-Ebene sowie in Polen, Deutschland und Portugal als Ländern, denen bei der Förderung der Wasserstoffindustrie in Europa eine Schlüsselrolle zukommt. Mit zwei verschiedenen Maßnahmen will das Projektteam der Zivilgesellschaft ermöglichen, sich aktiv an der Wasserstoffdebatte zu beteiligen. Der erste Schritt ist der Aufbau eines europaweiten Netzwerks von Akteuren der organisierten Zivilgesellschaft, die daran interessiert oder beteiligt sind, den umweltfreundlichen Einsatz von Wasserstoff auf europäischer und nationaler Ebene durch den Austausch von Wissen und Perspektiven zu fördern und zu erleichtern. In einem zweiten Schritt entwerfen alle Netzwerkmitglieder gemeinsam Leitlinien für politische Entscheidungsträger*innen, die auf die Formulierung von Lösungen abzielen, Wasserstoffmärkte und -infrastrukturen nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Die Projektmitglieder teilen diese Leitlinien mit Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft und Ministerien, die diese als Orientierung für politische Prozesse nutzen können, um den Weg für die Weiterentwicklung von wirklich kohlenstoffneutralem Wasserstoff zu ebnen. So trägt das Projektteam dazu bei, das volle Potenzial von grünem Wasserstoff zur Erreichung der Klimaneutralität freizusetzen.

Projektdaten

Stand: March 2022

Länder: Deutschland, Polen, Portugal

Projektdauer: 10/21 - 09/23

Fördersumme: 284.999 €

Zielgruppen: Privatwirtschaft, Regierungen, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
ZERO - Association for the Sustainability of the Earth System

Projektpartner:
Instrat Foundation

Projekt Webseite: -

Ansprechpartner

Herr Pedro Nunes

Organisation:

ZERO – Association for the Sustainability of the Earth System

Adresse:
Av. de Berna 31 2º Dto. Sala 6
1050-038 Lisboa
Portugal

Email:
zerozero.ong

EUKI

Das Projekt ist Teil des Ideenwettbewerbs der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK). Der EUKI-Ideenwettbewerb wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH umgesetzt. Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Kontakt

Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de