REFE – Reducing Ecological Footprints through Eco-Awareness

This project is completed. Enabling young people in Romania to live sustainable lifestyles by providing knowledge through educational materials.

Awareness Climate Policy Education

Beitragsbild

Project info

Countries:

Romania

Project duration:

11/20 - 12/22

Target groups:

General public, Educational institutions, Local governments, Regional governments

Funding:

284,684.43 €

Contact info

Contact:

Andreea Văsi

Implementing organisation
Partner:
  • Ecologic Association
  • Foundation EuroEd/EuroEd Secondary School
  • School for life
  • University of Bucharest

Background

Although environmentalism is on the rise throughout Europe, consumerism and mass production are still deeply rooted in large parts of society. In Romania, two recent documents – the 5th National Report on the Convention of Biological Diversity and the National Sustainable Development Strategy (NSDS) – emphasise the need for more sustainable lifestyles. Both identify education and awareness raising among youth as key approaches in this regard. 

Banner

Project

REFE complied with this through the development eight products that can be incorporated into Romania’s educational system. These supported the adjustment of the school system to the priorities of the 5th National Report on the Convention of Biological Diversity and the NSDS. The products consisted of the following: a tool to measure the ecological footprint; a planning guide for an educational summer camp on ecological footprints; a documentary; a grade-6 curriculum, teaching material; a theatre script; e-learning modules; a report. The products provided young people in Romania with the fundamentals of ecological thinking and with practical options to make their lifestyles more sustainable. REFE ensured to monitor all products throughout the project life cycle and adjusted them as needed. Translation into multiple languages makes them accessible to and usable by a broad audience across Europe. 

Results

  • The REFE team organised an Educational Summer Camp on Sustainability in Breb with 20 young people between the ages of 12 and 22. Before it started the participants tested the measurement of their ecological footprint, so they see the results and impact of the program afterwards in their daily life back in the cities. By this REFE managed to motivate the children to take environmental issues seriously. They learned about alternative and resourceless ways of living. The entire experience can be seen on the REFE Youtube channel, as it is the base of the documentary, 4 to 1 Earths – an Adventure in Ecology. 
  • In order to see in what extent REFE raised awareness of children on the sustainability topic, an auxiliary workbook was made, along with other materials. After the workbook was ready, the project organised a training session with teachers with the focus to familiarise them with the project, the teaching material and the auxiliary material made especially for students. 46 teachers from 5 schools were trained and 223 students were involved in the training. The Ministry of Education, National Centre for Policy and Evaluation in Education approved the REFE project auxiliary material. The approval results are available at the following link: https://rocnee.eu/index.php/auxiliare-didactice/rezultatele-evaluarii-auxiliarelor-didactice-depuse-in-sesiunea-iulie-2022

Last update: June 2024

Success Stories

Back to the Roots

The REFE team organized a sustainability summer camp in Breb, Romania. More than 20 young people between the age of 12 and 21 learned through practical workshops how to raise their environmental awareness and reduce their ecological footprint. At the end of the summer camp, the young people underwent the second stage of the ecological footprint test. In this way, they were able to determine what they learned in the camp to reduce their energy consumption and in which areas they could still improve.

More about this project

Publications

publications

27 March 2023

REFE Final Report

publications

17 January 2023

REFE Teaching Material

publications

16 January 2023

Test Your Ecological Footprint

publications

10 January 2023

Shakespeare and the Golden Toad

REFE – Umweltbewusstsein steigern, ökologogische Fußabdrücke reduzieren

Das Projekt ist abgeschlossen. Ziel des Projekts war es junge Menschen in Rumänien durch die Bereitstellung von Unterrichtsmaterialien und die Vermittlung von Wissen zu einem nachhaltigeren Lebensstil zu bewegen. 

Bewusstseinsbildung Bildung Klimapolitik

Beitragsbild

Infos zum Projekt

Länder:

Rumänien

Dauer des Projekts:

11/20 - 12/22

Zielgruppen:

Öffentlichkeit, Bildungseinrichtungen, Lokale Regierungen, Regionale Regierungen

Fördersumme:

284.684,43 €

Kontakt

Kontakt:

Andreea Văsi

Durchführende Organisationen:
Partner:
  • Ecologic Association
  • Foundation EuroEd/EuroEd Secondary School
  • School for life
  • University of Bucharest

Hintergrund

Auch wenn der Umweltschutz in ganz Europa auf dem Vormarsch ist, so sind Konsumdenken und Abhängigkeit von der Massenproduktion in weiten Teilen der Gesellschaft noch immer tief verwurzelt. In Rumänien wurde kürzlich – sowohl im 5. Nationalen Bericht zum Übereinkommen über die biologische Vielfalt als auch der Nationalen Strategie für nachhaltige Entwicklung (NSDS) – nochmals besonders auf die Notwendigkeit eines nachhaltigeren Lebensstils hingewiesen. In beiden Dokumenten werden die Ausbildung von und die Bewusstseinsbildung unter Jugendlichen als zentrale Ansätze benannt. 

Projekt

REFE hat hier angeknüpft und acht Maßnahmen entwickelt, die in das rumänische Bildungssystem integriert werden können. Dadurch wurde die Anpassung des Schulsystems an die im 5. Nationalen Bericht zum Übereinkommen über die biologische Vielfalt und in der NSDS genannten Prioritäten unterstützt. Die Maßnahmen bestehen aus folgenden Komponenten: Ein Instrument zur Messung des ökologischen Fußabdrucks; eine Anleitung zur Planung eines pädagogischen Sommerferienlagers zum Thema ökologischer Fußabdruck; ein Dokumentarfilm; ein Lehrplan für die 6. Klasse; Unterrichtsmaterial; ein Theaterdrehbuch; E-Learning-Module und ein begleitender Bericht. Anhand dieser Produkte wurde den Jugendlichen in Rumänien die Grundlagen ökologischen Denkens vermittelt und praktische Möglichkeiten aufgezeigt, wie sie ihren Lebensstil nachhaltiger gestalten können. REFE hat sichergestellt, dass alle Produkte während des gesamten Projekts gemonitort und bei Bedarf angepasst wurden. Die Produkte wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt und einem breiten Publikum in ganz Europa zur Nutzung zugänglich gemacht. 

Ergebnisse

  • Das REFE-Team hat ein pädagogisches Sommercamp zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit in Breb mit 20 jungen Menschen im Alter von 12 bis 22 Jahren organisiert. Bevor es los ging, testeten die Teilnehmer*innen die Messung ihres ökologischen Fußabdrucks, damit sie die Auswirkungen des Programms später in ihrem alltäglichen Leben in den Städten erkennen können. Auf diese Weise gelang es REFE, die Kinder zu motivieren, Umweltbelange ernst zu nehmen. Sie lernten dadruch alternative und ressourcenschonende Lebensweisen kennen. Die gesamte Erfahrung ist auf dem REFE-Youtube-Kanal zu sehen, da sie die Grundlage für den Dokumentarfilm 4 to 1 Earths – an Adventure in Ecology bildet.  
  • Um herauszufinden, inwieweit REFE die Kinder für das Thema Nachhaltigkeit sensibilisieren konnte, wurde neben anderen Materialien auch ein Arbeitsheft erstellt. Nachdem das Arbeitsbuch fertiggestellt war, organisierte das Projekt eine Schulungssitzung mit Lehrer*innen, um sie mit dem Projekt, dem Unterrichtsmaterial und dem speziell für Schüler erstellten Hilfsmaterial vertraut zu machen. 46 Lehrer*inen aus 5 Schulen wurden geschult, und 223 Schüler*innen nahmen an der Schulung teil. Das “Ministry of Education, National Centre for Policy and Evaluation in Education” in Rumänien hat das Material genehmigt. Die Genehmigungsergebnisse sind unter folgendem Link verfügbar: https://rocnee.eu/index.php/auxiliare-didactice/rezultatele-evaluarii-auxiliarelor-didactice-depuse-in-sesiunea-iulie-2022

Letzte Aktualisierung: Mrz 2024

Erfolgsgeschichten

Zurück zu den Wurzeln

Das REFE-Team organisierte ein Nachhaltigkeits-Sommercamp im rumänischen Breb. Über 20 Jugendliche zwischen 12 und 21 Jahren lernten durch praktische Workshops, wie sie ihr Umweltbewusstsein schärfen und ihren ökologischen Fußabdruck verringern können. Am Ende des Sommercamps haben sich die Jugendlichen der zweiten Stufe der ökologischen Fußabdruckprüfung unterzogen. So konnten sie feststellen, was sie im Camp gelernt haben, um ihren Energieverbrauch zu senken und in welchen Bereichen sie sich noch verbessern könnten.

Mehr zu diesem Projekt

Publikationen