Renewable Power-to-Heat in the Bitola Region

Conducting a feasibility study on the conversion of a district heating system to renewable power-to-heat, serving as a basis for investment activities and upscaling.

Coal Phase-out Energy Policy Energy Transition Energy Transition and Climate-Neutral Buildings Municipalities Renewable Energy

Panorama of Thermal power plant Bitola

Project info

Countries:

North Macedonia

Project duration:

11/23 - 10/25

Target groups:

-

Funding:

244,647.60 €

Contact info

Partner:
  • 100 percent renewable foundation

Background

According to the EU’s Strategy for Energy System Integration, the share of electricity in heating demand should increase to 40 per cent by 2030. District heating networks offer great potential for rapidly reducing CO2 emissions. However, decarbonising these systems requires fundamental economic and technological changes such as new heating business models and grid access for renewable energy.

The North Macedonian region of Bitola is part of the Initiative for coal regions in transition in the Western Balkans and Ukraine, which supports the region’s transitions to a low-carbon economy. A district heating network, currently under construction, is to be powered by steam from a nearby coal-fired power plant. Decarbonising the system could be realised with the use of large-scale heat pumps supplied with as much renewable energy as possible.

Project

A feasibility study is carried out to pave the way for a climate-neutral district heating network in the Bitola region. It will provide guidance on how to design a successful transformation of the heating sector and clarify several barriers related to infrastructure planning, investor’s involvement and capacity development. It will also present a basis for future public and private investment, the potential of which has not yet been fully realised for power-to-heat projects.

The results of the study should also help in obtaining funding from the Instrument for Pre-Accession (IPA) to support the decarbonisation of the region’s district heating system. They will also serve as an example of good practice for local and regional policy makers, NGOs, investors, energy utilities and citizens as end users in North Macedonia, across the Balkans and in Europe in general. Outreach activities include the dissemination of information on the social and economic benefits of a decarbonised heating system for regional development.

Last update: April 2024

Grüne Heizkraft für Bitola

Durchführung einer Machbarkeitsstudie, um die Umstellung eines Fernwärmesystems auf die Wärmeerzeugung durch Strom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen zu prüfen. Die Studie dient als Basis für zukünftige Investitionen und für die Verbreitung der „Power-to-Heat“-Technologie.

Energiepolitik Energiewende Energiewende und klimaneutrale Gebäude Erneuerbare Energien Kohleausstieg Kommunen

Panorama of Thermal power plant Bitola

Infos zum Projekt

Länder:

Nordmazedonien

Dauer des Projekts:

11/23 - 10/25

Zielgruppen:

-

Fördersumme:

244.647,60 €

Kontakt

Kontakt:

Vesna Nedelkovska

Partner:
  • 100 percent renewable foundation

Hintergrund

Laut der EU-Strategie zur Integration des Energiesystems soll bis 2030 der Stromanteil bei der Deckung des Wärmebedarfs auf 40 Prozent steigen. Fernwärmenetze spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Reduzierung von CO2-Emissionen in der Wärmegewinnung. Die Umstellung auf erneuerbare Energien erfordert grundlegende wirtschaftliche und technologische Änderungen, darunter neue Geschäftsmodelle für die Wärmeversorgung und den Zugang zu erneuerbaren Energiequellen.

Die Region Bitola in Nordmazedonien ist Teil der Initiative für Kohleregionen im Wandel in den westlichen Balkanstaaten und der Ukraine, die den Übergang der Region zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Wirtschaft unterstützt. Hier entsteht ein Fernwärmenetz, das mit Dampf aus einem Kohlekraftwerk betrieben werden soll. Eine Dekarbonisierung könnte durch Großwärmepumpen erreicht werden, die vorrangig mit erneuerbarer Energie betrieben werden.

Projekt

Eine Machbarkeitsstudie soll den Weg für ein klimaneutrales Fernwärmenetz in der Region Bitola ebnen. Sie zielt darauf ab, den Wärmesektor neu zu gestalten, und präsentiert Lösungen für Herausforderungen in Bereichen wie Infrastrukturplanung, Beteiligung von Interessengruppen und Aufbau von Fachwissen. Sie wird zudem als Grundlage für zukünftige öffentliche und private Investitionen dienen, deren Potenzial für „Power-to-Heat“-Projekte noch nicht ausgeschöpft ist.

Die Ergebnisse der Studie sollten auch dazu beitragen, Mittel aus dem Instrument für Heranführungshilfe für die Dekarbonisierung des Fernwärmenetzes der Region zu erhalten. Zudem sind sie als Beispiele guter Praxis für lokale und regionale politische Entscheidungsträger*innen, NGOs, Investor*innen, Energieversorgungsunternehmen und Bürger*innen als Endverbrauchende in Nordmazedonien, aber auch im Balkan und Europa gedacht. Informationen über die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Vorteile dekarbonisierter Heizsysteme für die regionale Entwicklung werden im Rahmen der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit verbreitet.

Letzte Aktualisierung: April 2024