[relevant_sector]

Sustainaware

Educating the Slovenian and Hungarian youth about climate change and climate change mitigation through non-formal approaches.

Background

The Slovenian and Hungarian youth is aware of climate change issues and has a generally positive attitude toward climate action. However, they are rarely engaged in actual projects. To change this, educational projects must not only focus on teaching the science behind climate change, but also on encouraging action. This can only be achieved when projects reach out to young people beyond traditional, formalized education contexts like schools. Instead, they need to adjust to their realities and means of communication.

blank

The Earth Overshoot Day marks the date when humanity has exhausted nature’s budget for the year. If the world’s population would live like the population of Qatar, this day would be on Februray 11 already. (c) IMZTR


Project

To promote “climate literacy” among Central European youth, the project provides educational resources about climate change mitigation. For example, it adjusts the Ecological Footprint Calculator to the Slovenian reality. This allows young people to compare and tackle their resource demands and to transform unsustainable consumption patterns into sustainable ones. Furthermore, the implementing organizations conduct educational events on climate change: eight webinars, a summer school on climate change, and the Sustainability and Youth Climate Summit. Each format allows participants and relevant stakeholders from Central Europe to present and discuss project results. Finally, the project addresses the youth work community by developing a new competence model on climate mitigation and sustainability. Acknowledging the importance of non-formal education and communications systems, the project relies heavily on social media to disseminate the knowledge.

Logo of EUKI Project Sustainaware

Sustainaware Project Logo © Graphic: IMZTR

Project information

Updated: January 2021

Countries: Hungary, Slovenia

Project duration: 07/20 - 12/21

Funding: 158,638 €

Target groups: Civil Society

Implementing organisation: Institute for Health and Environment

Partners: Youth Network No Excuses Slovenia

Project website: sustainaware.net/

Contact Person:

Mr Tomaž Gorenc

Organisation:
Institute for Health and Environment

Address:
Gregorčičeva ulica 7
1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia

Email:
tomaz.gorencizo.si

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

Sustainaware

Aufklärung der slowenischen und ungarischen Jugend über Klimawandel und Klimaschutz unter Nutzung nicht formaler Konzepte.

Bewusstseinsbildung Bildung Klimapolitik

Beitragsbild

Infos zum Projekt

Länder:

Slowenien, Ungarn

Dauer des Projekts:

07/20 - 12/22

Zielgruppen:

Bildungseinrichtungen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen

Fördersumme:

158.638,91 €

Kontakt

Kontakt:

Tomaž Gorenc

Durchführende Organisationen:
Partner:
  • CliMates France
  • University of Ljubljana (UL)
  • Youth Network No Excuse Slovenia

Hintergrund

Die slowenische und ungarische Jugend ist sich der Problematik des Klimawandels bewusst und hat grundsätzlich eine positive Einstellung zum Klimaschutz. Allerdings engagieren sich die jungen Menschen nur selten in konkreten Projekten. Um dies zu ändern, müssen sich Bildungsprojekte nicht nur auf die Vermittlung von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen über den Klimawandel konzentrieren, sondern ihre Zielgruppe auch zum Mitmachen ermutigen. Dies wird nur gelingen, wenn die Projekte junge Menschen auch außerhalb der klassischen, formalisierten Bildungskontexte wie Schulen erreichen und abholen. Dazu müssen sich die Projekte auf die Realität einstellen, in der junge Menschen heute leben, und moderne Kommunikationsmittel nutzen.

Der Earth Overshoot Day markiert das Datum, an dem die Menschheit alle natürlichen Ressourcen für das Jahr ausgeschöpft hat. Würde die Weltbevölkerung so leben wie die Bevölkerung von Katar, wäre dieser Tag bereits am 11. Februar. (c) IMZTR

Projekt

Zur Förderung der „Klimakompetenz“ mitteleuropäischer Jugendlicher stellt das Projekt Material mit Informationen über den Klimaschutz bereit. So wird beispielsweise der Ökologische Fußabdruck-Rechner an die Gegebenheiten in Slowenien angepasst. Mit diesem Instrument können die Jugendlichen ihren Ressourcenverbrauch ermitteln und sich nachhaltige Konsumweisen angewöhnen. Darüber hinaus organisieren die Durchführungsorganisationen acht Webinare und eine Sommerschule zum Thema Klimawandel und führen den Nachhaltigkeits- und Jugendklimagipfel durch. Bei jedem dieser Formate haben die Teilnehmenden und Stakeholder aus Mitteleuropa Gelegenheit, Projektergebnisse vorzustellen und darüber zu diskutieren. Außerdem richtet sich das Projekt an die Akteure der Jugendarbeit und entwickelt für sie ein neues Kompetenzmodell zu den Themen Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit. Das Projekt erkennt die Bedeutung von nicht-formalen Bildungs- und Kommunikationssystemen an und stützt sich bei der Verbreitung von Wissen in hohem Maße auf soziale Medien.

Sustainaware EUKI Projektlogo © Grafik: IMZTR

Letzte Aktualisierung: Juni 2024

Mehr zu diesem Projekt

Blog-Beiträge

post

17.05.2021

WTF is Climate Change?

post

17.05.2021

WTF is Climate Change?

Publikationen

publications

17.05.2021

Klimawandel - Hörma wat?