Climate Action Zlatibor

Providing public service employees in Serbia with the necessary knowledge and capacities to develop a local climate change mitigation strategy.

Background

While Serbia has started to harmonise its legislation with EU frameworks, the country still lacks capacities in sustainable energy development, climate change management and sustainable investment. The results are notable in the energy sector. For example, 85 percent of Serbia’s residential buildings do not meet energy efficiency requirements, and 80 percent of primary energy production comes from fossil fuels while renewable sources only make up a marginal amount. To be able to develop an ambitious climate strategy, the necessary knowledge and capacities need to be provided to the public sector.

Representatives of the Zlatibor region and the Northern Croatia region.

Representatives from northern Croatia and the Serbian region Zlatibor. Photo: (c) Regional Development Agency Zlatibor

Project

To build this basis on a regional level, the project establishes a competence centre in the Serbian region of Zlatibor. The centre hosts a series of knowledge transfer and awareness raising formats to encourage new sustainability projects and establish the necessary funding schemes. Furthermore, the project conducts analyses of buildings’ solar potential, monitors pilot projects, and develops exemplary procurement and technical documentations for future projects. The project partners thus increase their knowledge and capacities in the field of climate change mitigation and can employ it to develop policy documents for the regional authorities. The centre constitutes a new department within the Zlatibor Regional Development Agency. The Croatian energy agency REA North provides advice on sustainable energy management to the centre.

Project information

Updated: January 2021

Countries: Croatia, Serbia

Project duration: 10/20 - 01/23

Funding: 377,238 €

Target groups: Civil Society, Private sector, Public sector

Implementing organisation: Regional Energy Agency North Croatia

Partners: Zlatibor Regional Development Agency Ltd

Contact Person:

Mr Ivan Simic

Organisation:
Regional Energy Agency North Croatia

Address:
Miroslava Krleze 81
48000 Koprivnica
Croatia

Email:
ivan.simicrea-sjever.hr

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

Klimaschutz in Zlatibor

Vermittlung des notwendigen Wissens und der entsprechenden Kompetenzen an Mitarbeiter*innen des öffentlichen Dienstes in Serbien, damit sie eine lokale Strategie zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels entwickeln zu können.

Hintergrund

Obwohl Serbien damit begonnen hat, seine Gesetzgebung mit den EU-Rechtsvorschriften zu harmonisieren, gibt es in den Bereichen nachhaltige Energieentwicklung, im Klimawandelmanagement sowie bei nachhaltigen Investments immer noch größere Lücken. Dies ist im Energiesektor besonders deutlich. So genügen zum Beispiel 85 Prozent der Wohngebäude in Serbien nicht den Energieeffizienzanforderungen, wobei 80 Prozent der Primärenergie aus fossilen Brennstoffen gewonnen wird, während der Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien verschwindend gering ist. Damit eine ambitionierte Klimastrategie entwickelt werden kann, muss der öffentliche Dienst mit dem notwendigen Wissen und entsprechenden Kompetenzen ausgestattet werden.

Vertreter der Region Zlatibor und der Region Nordkroatien.

Vertreter aus Nordkroatien und der serbischen Region Zlatibor. Foto: (c) Regionale Entwicklungsagentur Zlatibor

Projekt

Um diese Grundlage auf der regionalen Ebene schaffen, richtet das Projekt ein Kompetenzzentrum in der serbischen Region Zlatibor ein. Das Zentrum bietet eine Vielzahl von Formaten zum Wissenstransfer und zur Bewusstseinsbildung an, um neue Nachhaltigkeitsprojekte zu unterstützen und die notwendigen Finanzierungsprogramme zu entwickeln. Außerdem führt das Projekt Analysen zum Solarpotenzial von Gebäuden durch, begleitet Pilotprojekte und entwickelt beispielhafte Beschaffungsunterlagen sowie technische Dokumentationen für zukünftige Projekte. Auf diese Weise erweitern die Projektpartner ihr Wissen und ihre Kompetenzen in Sachen Klimaschutz und können dieses Know-how bei der Entwicklung von Richtlinien für die regionalen Behörden einsetzen. Das Zentrum ist eine neue Abteilung bei der regionalen Entwicklungsagentur Zlatibor. Die kroatische Energieagentur REA Nord berät das Zentrum beim nachhaltigen Energiemanagement.

Projektdaten

Stand: Januar 2021

Länder: Kroatien, Serbien

Projektdauer: 10/20 - 01/23

Fördersumme: 377.238 €

Zielgruppen: Öffentlicher Sektor, Privatwirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
Regionale Energieagentur Nordkroatien

Projektpartner:
Regionale Entwicklungsagentur Zlatibor

Ansprechpartner

Mr Ivan Simic

Organisation:

Regionale Energieagentur Nordkroatien

Adresse:
Miroslava Krleze 81
48000 Koprivnica
Kroatien

Email:
ivan.simicrea-sjever.hr

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de