CACTUS – Consolidating Ambitious Climate Targets with End-Use Sufficiency

Integrating energy sufficiency into climate and energy strategies in Central and Eastern Europe.

Background

Decarbonisation efforts often focus on energy efficiency and renewable energy; they have accounted for up to 95 percent of achieved greenhouse gas (GHG) emission reductions. Energy sufficiency is a key further lever that augments the range of approaches available for decarbonisation. The Central Eastern European context sees high energy dependency, high energy poverty, low energy services, as well as a fast catching-up economy and lifestyles. To integrate energy sufficiency successfully into regional climate and energy scenario models, decision makers have to take these realities into account.

Excessive numbers of airconditioners on a building.

Excessive numbers of airconditioners on a building, conributing to unnecessarily high levels of energy consumption; Photo: (c) Unsplash

Project

CACTUS aims to sensitise key scenario builders, policy makers and wider EU and climate energy stakeholders on the potential of energy sufficiency. To this end, experts from négaWatt (France), Fraunhofer ISI (Germany), REKK (Hungary) and LEI (Lithuania) engage in technical dialogue and capacity building activities. They analyse the sufficiency potential in Hungary’s and Lithuania’s transport and building sectors. Subsequently, they explore its integration into scenario models and into national climate and energy strategies.

Furthermore, participants develop suggestions for the local energy transition context and analyse the integration of sufficiency in existing scenarios, also considering potential long-term impacts. Results from this exploration inform the dialogue with key policy makers.

Sharing knowledge and building capacities is key to the various formats CACTUS organises: at least four national modelling experts participate in three technical workshops, at least ten policy makers in two policy dialogues. Three technical reports and two policy briefs make the acquired knowledge available to a broader public. Finally, a peer-reviewed article and a final conference at EU level ensure further dissemination of the project results.

Project information

Updated: January 2021

Countries: Hungary, Lithuania

Project duration: 07/20 - 03/22

Funding: 193,998 €

Target groups: Civil Society, Governments, NGOs

Implementing organisation: négaWatt

Partners: Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI, Lithuanian Energy Institute, REKK Foundation

Contact Person:

Mr Stephane Bourgeois

Organisation:
négaWatt

Address:
BP 16280 Alixan
26958 Valence Cedex 9
France

Email:
stephane.bourgeoisnegawatt.org

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

CACTUS – Klimaschutz durch Energiesuffizienz

Wachsende Berücksichtigung der Energiesuffizienz bei Klima- und Energiestrategien in Mittel- und Osteuropa 

Hintergrund

Bei den Bemühungen zur Dekarbonisierung ist das Hauptaugenmerk oftmals auf Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien gerichtet; ihr Anteil an der erzielten Senkung der Treibhausgasemissionen beläuft sich auf bis zu 95 Prozent. Energiesuffizienz ist ein weiterer wichtiger Hebel, der das Spektrum der möglichen Ansätze zur Dekarbonisierung erweitert. In Mittel– und Osteuropa besteht eine hohe Energieabhängigkeit und ein enormer Energiemangel, es gibt wenige Energiedienstleistungen gepaart mit einer Aufholjagd in Bezug auf Wirtschaft und Lebensweise. Entscheidungsträger*innen müssen diese Realitäten in Betracht ziehen, um Energiesuffizienz erfolgreich in regionale Klima- und Energiemodelle einzubauen.  

Ein Gebäude mit übermäßig vielen Klimaanlagen mit hohem Energieverbrauch.

Die unnötig hohe Anzahl an Klimaanlagen in Gebäuden trägt zu einem überhöhten Energiekonsum bei; Foto: (c) Unsplash

Projekt

CACTUS hat das Ziel, wichtige Modellentwickler*innen, politische Entscheidungsträger*innen und weitere Interessenvertreter*innen bei der EU und im Bereich Klima und Energie für das Potenzial der Energiesuffizienz zu sensibilisieren. Deshalb beteiligen sich Expert*innen von négaWatt (Frankreich), Fraunhofer ISI (Deutschland), REKK (Ungarn) and LEI (Litauenam technischen Dialog und Kompetenzaufbau. Sie analysieren die Suffizienzpotenziale im Verkehrs- und Gebäudesektor in Ungarn und Litauen.  Anschließend untersuchen sie, wie diese Potenziale in Energiemodelle und nationale Klima- und Energiestrategien integriert werden können.  

Außerdem entwickeln die Teilnehmer Vorschläge für die Energiewende vor Ort und analysieren die Einbindung der Suffizienz in bestehende Modelle und untersuchen, welche Auswirkungen dies langfristig haben könnte. Die Untersuchungsergebnisse fließen dann in den Dialog mit wichtigen politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen ein. 

Der Schwerpunkt der verschiedenen von CACTUS angebotenen Formate liegt auf dem Wissensaustausch und Kompetenzaufbau:  Mindestens vier nationale Modellierungsexpert*innen nehmen an drei technischen Workshops teil, mindestens zehn politische Entscheidungsträger*innen an zwei politischen Dialogen. Der breiteren Öffentlichkeit wird das gesammelte Wissen in drei technischen Berichten und zwei Richtlinienhinweisen zur Verfügung gestellt. Zu guter Letzt sorgen ein peer-reviewed article und eine Abschlusskonferenz auf EU-Ebene für die Weiterverbreitung der Projektergebnisse 

Projektdaten

Stand: Januar 2021

Länder: Litauen, Ungarn

Projektdauer: 11/20 - 04/22

Fördersumme: 258.765 €

Zielgruppen: Forschungseinrichtungen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Regierungen, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
négaWatt

Partner: Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI), Lithuanian Energy Institute, REKK Foundation

Ansprechpartner

Herr Stephane Bourgeois

Organisation:

négaWatt

Adresse:
BP 16280 Alixan
26958 Valence Cedex 9
Frankreich

Email:
stephane.bourgeoisnegawatt.org

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de