Just Transition in the Car Industry

The project is completed. The project’s goal was to combine climate change mitigation with social justice by setting a just transition of the European car industry in motion.

Climate-Neutral Mobility Renewable Energy

Beitragsbild

Project info

Countries:

Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia

Project duration:

09/20 - 02/23

Target groups:

National governments, EU institutions, Local governments, Private sector, Associations, Civil society

Funding:

414,637.13 €

Contact info

Contact:

Daniel Weiß

Implementing organisation
Partner:
  • Central European Labour Studies Institute (CELSI)
  • Centre for Economic and Region Studies (CERS, formerly Hungarian Academy of Sciences)
  • ideas into energy gGmbH
  • Institute for Political Ecology
  • Masaryk University
  • NELA. Next Economy Lab
  • WiseEuropa - Foundation Warsaw Institute for Economic and European Studies

Background

Cars account for about 20 per cent of Europe’s current CO2 emissions. To achieve the climate goals of the Paris Agreement, a transformation of the automobile industry is necessary. The industry accounts for almost 14 million jobs in the EU and is a key economic sector in Central and Eastern Europe (CEE). Therefore, pathways need to be identified that ensure the support of all affected stakeholders. Despite its urgency, this transformation is still at the very beginning.

Automated machines in a car factory, Photo: ©Lenny Kuhne | Unsplash

Project

To advance the transformation, the project implemented several measures in its six partner countries Czech Republic, Slovakia, Croatia, Hungary, Poland and Germany. First, it set up an exchange group between stakeholders. The project considered such exchange between all affected stakeholders the basis for the following steps towards a carbon neutral transport sector. Second, based on the exchange group’s recommendations, the project conducted co-creation workshops, in which stakeholders develop bottom-up pathways for this transition. Third, based on interviews and workshops, the project developed policy recommendations for the target countries and the EU. Finally, the projects ensured that the topics and outcomes of these measures were communicated to more stakeholders and the wider public through press articles, video clips, and a conference in Brussels.

The project constitutes a starting point for the development and implementation of just and climate-friendly transition strategies in the automotive sector. It provided impulses for politicians to act on the challenges of transition. In the long run, it influences scientific and political discourse and thus supports the realization of climate targets through a just transition in the European car industry.

Results

  • One important milestone in the project was the “Just Transition: Where is the European car industry heading?” conference in Brussels in May 2022, which brought together a wide range of stakeholders in the automotive industry. These included representatives from the industry, non-governmental environmental organizations, universities, trade unions from Central and Eastern Europe and political decision-makers from the European Commission and Parliament. The results of the conference as well as interviews conducted in this context on the current situation and possible ways forward for the automotive industry can be found here.
  • A total of 139 stakeholders (political decision-makers at local, national and EU level, company representatives, associations, trade unions and civil society) were sensitized to the need for a just transition in the automotive industry.

Last update: February 2024

More about this project

Gerechter Strukturwandel in der Automobilbranche

Das Projekt ist abgeschlossen. Ziel war es, den gerechten Strukturwandel in der europäischen Automobilindustrie durch die Verbindung von Klimaschutz und sozialer Gerechtigkeit zu unterstützen.

Erneuerbare Energien Klimaneutrale Mobilität

Beitragsbild

Infos zum Projekt

Länder:

Deutschland, Kroatien, Polen, Slowakei, Tschechische Republik, Ungarn

Dauer des Projekts:

09/20 - 02/23

Zielgruppen:

Nationale Regierungen, EU-Institutionen, Lokale Regierungen, Privatsektor, Verbände, Zivilgesellschaft

Fördersumme:

414.637,13 €

Kontakt

Kontakt:

Daniel Weiß

Durchführende Organisationen:
Partner:
  • Central European Labour Studies Institute (CELSI)
  • Centre for Economic and Region Studies (CERS, formerly Hungarian Academy of Sciences)
  • ideas into energy gGmbH
  • Institute for Political Ecology
  • Masaryk University
  • NELA. Next Economy Lab
  • WiseEuropa - Foundation Warsaw Institute for Economic and European Studies

Hintergrund

PKWs tragen mit etwa 20% zum CO2-Ausstoß in Europa bei. Um die Klimaziele des Pariser Abkommens zu erreichen, muss in der Automobilindustrie ein Strukturwandel angestoßen werden. Die Branche bietet annähernd 14 Millionen Menschen in der EU eine Beschäftigung und ist ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig in Mittel- und Osteuropa. Deshalb muss ein Weg gefunden werden, der von allen Beteiligten unterstützt wird. Trotz seiner Dringlichkeit steckt dieser Strukturwandelprozess noch in den Kinderschuhen.

Automatisierte Maschinen in einer Autofabrik, Foto: ©Lenny Kuhne | Unsplash

Inhalte und Maßnahmen

Um die Transformation voranzutreiben, setzte das Projekt in den sechs Partnerländern Tschechien, der Slowakei, Kroatien, Ungarn, Polen und Deutschland mehrere Maßnahmen um. Zunächst wurde eine Gruppe gebildet, um den Austausch zwischen den Interessenvertreter*innen zu fördern.  Das Projekt betrachtete den Dialog zwischen allen Beteiligten als Grundlage für die weiteren Schritte hin zu einem klimaneutralen Verkehrssektor.  Auf Grundlage der von der Dialoggruppe gemachten Empfehlungen führte das Projekt anschließend Co-Creation Workshops durch, in denen die Interessenvertreter*innen gemäß dem Bottom-up-Prinzip Wege hin zu diesem Wandel aufzeigten. Im dritten Schritt entwickelte das Projekt auf Basis der Interviews und Workshops politische Empfehlungen für die Zielländer und die EU. Abschließend gewährleistete das Projekt, dass die Themen und Ergebnisse dieser Maßnahmen durch Presseartikel, Videoclips und eine Konferenz in Brüssel an weitere Interessenvertreter*innen und die breite Öffentlichkeit kommuniziert wurden.

Das Projekt ist Ausgangspunkt für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von gerechten und klimafreundlichen Übergangsstrategien im Automobilsektor. Es lieferte der Politik Impulse, sich den Herausforderungen des Strukturwandels zu stellen und zu handeln. Langfristig wird es sich auf den wissenschaftlichen und politischen Diskurs auswirken und somit dazu beitragen, dass die Klimaziele durch einen gerechten Strukturwandel in der europäischen Automobilindustrie umgesetzt werden.

Ergebnisse

  • Ein wichtiger Meilenstein des Projekts war die Durchführung der Konferenz “Just Transition: Where is the European car industry heading?” in Brüssel im Mai 2022. Bei der Konferenz kamen verschiedenste Stakeholder im Bereich der Automobilindustrie zum Dialog zusammen. Dazu zählten Vertreter*innen der Industrie, nichtstaatlicher Umweltorganisationen, Hochschulen, Gewerkschaften aus Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie politische Entscheidungsträger*innen aus der Europäischen Kommission und dem Parlament. Die Ergebnisse der Konferenz sowie in diesem Rahmen geführte Interviews zur aktuellen Situation und möglichen Wegen für die Automobilindustrie finden sich hier.
  • Insg. 139 Stakeholder (politische Entscheidungsträger*innen auf lokaler, nationaler und EU-Ebene, Unternehmensvertreter*innen, Verbände, Gewerkschaften und die Zivilgesellschaft) wurden für einen gerechten Übergang in der Automobilindustrie sensibilisiert.

Letzte Aktualisierung: Juni 2024

Mehr zu diesem Projekt