[relevant_sector]

Children Stand Up!

Inspiring young people in Italy and Albania to adopt sustainable lifestyles and to advocate for them in local politics.

Background

Schools play an especially important role in bringing about societal change: they are hubs, where a new generation works on realising a more sustainable and inclusive society. Furthermore, schools are multipliers in that the values they promote reach beyond the students themselves, into their families, and thus into society at large.

blank

“Earth belongs to children and children are the future of this planet.” – Child-led groups standing up and calling for action against climate change impact. Photo: (c) Save the children Albania

Project

The project makes use of this dynamic: it builds networks to connect youth groups and schools and provides knowledge on climate change mitigation to children, youth and their teachers and promotes good practices among them. In addition, the project develops ideas for climate action in schools as well as supports and monitors their implementation. Furthermore, it uses reports and videos to present and promote best practices through its media and social media channels. Thus, schools all over Europe can adapt and realise them.

Another core concern is to promote the power of advocacy. Therefore, Children Stand Up! provides both schools and municipalities with capacities and methods that enable the increased participation of children in decision making. Permanent environmental committees ensure the sustainability of the project.

Project information

Updated: March 2021

Countries: Albania, Italy

Project duration: 11/20 - 10/22

Funding: 623,005 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Schools

Implementing organisation: Save the Children Italy

Partners: Istituto Oikos Onlus, Save the Children Albania

Contact Person:

Ms Sara Menichetti

Organisation:
Save the Children Italy

Address:
Piazza San Francesco di Paola 9
00184 Rome
Italy

Email:
infosavethechildren.org

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

[relevant_sector]

Children Stand Up!

Junge Menschen in Italien und Albanien zu einer nachhaltigen Lebensweise inspirieren und sie dazu befähigen, sich in der Kommunalpolitik dafür einzusetzen.

Hintergrund

Schulen spielen beim gesellschaftlichen Wandel eine besonders wichtige Rolle: Sie wirken wie ein Drehkreuz, an dem eine neue Generation an der Verwirklichung einer nachhaltigeren und integrativen Gesellschaft mitwirkt. Des Weiteren sind Schulen Multiplikatoren, weil die von ihnen propagierten Werte von den Schüler*innen in die jeweiligen Familien getragen werden und sie sich dadurch auf die gesamte Gesellschaft auswirken.

blank

„Die Erde gehört den Kindern und Kinder sind die Zukunft des Planeten.“ Eine Gruppe albanischer Kinder fordert Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel. Foto: (c) Save the Children Albanien

Projekt

Das Projekt macht sich diese Dynamik zunutze: Es bildet Netzwerke aus Jugendgruppen und Schulen und vermittelt Kindern, Jugendlichen und ihren Lehrer*innen nicht nur Wissen zum Klimawandel, sondern zeigt auf wie dieser eingedämmt werden kann. Das Projekt entwickelt Ideen für Klimaschutzaktionen und begleitet die Umsetzung der Maßnahmen an den Schulen.  Darüber hinaus präsentiert und fördert das Projekt über seine Medien und sozialen Medien Berichte und Videos, in denen bewährte Methoden vorgestellt werden. Somit können Schulen in ganz Europa diese Maßnahmen an ihre jeweiligen Belange anpassen und umsetzen.

Die Stärkung von Interessenvertreter*innen ist ein weiteres Kernanliegen des Projekts. Deshalb vermittelt Children Stand Up! sowohl an Schulen als auch in Kommunen die Kompetenzen und Methoden, die eine stärkere Beteiligung von Kindern an Entscheidungsprozessen möglich machen. Ständige Umweltkomitees gewährleisten die Nachhaltigkeit des Projekts.

Projektdaten

Stand: March 2021

Länder: Albanien, Italien

Projektdauer: 11/20 - 10/22

Fördersumme: 623.005 €

Zielgruppen: Schulen, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
Save the Children Italien

Projektpartner:
Oikos Onlus Institut, Save the Children Albanien

Ansprechpartner

Frau Sara Menichetti

Organisation:
Save the Children Italien

Adresse:
Piazza San Francesco di Paola 9
00184 Rom
Italien

Email:
infosavethechildren.org

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de