EDU-CLIC

Setting up an education infrastructure for waste management staff and landfill operators to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in Serbia’s municipal waste sector.

Sustainable Economy Waste

Beitragsbild

Project info

Countries:

Serbia

Project duration:

10/21 - 01/24

Target groups:

Local governments, General public, Public sector, Private sector, Civil society, Educational institutions

Funding:

462,368.95 €

Contact info

Contact:

Natalija Velic

Partner:
  • Regional development agency Srem
  • University of Novi Sad - Faculty of Technical Sciences

Background

Landfills represent the third largest anthropogenic source of methane emissions globally. This is also an issue in Serbia, where waste management has been predominantly based on landfilling, thus significantly contributing to the national carbon footprint: Serbia has over 3,600 waste disposal sites which cause 60,000 tons of methane emissions annually.

Deponie in Srem, Photo: ©Regional Development Agency Srem, Serbia

Project

To address this issue, the EDU-CLIC project team targets waste management staff and landfill operators and provides them with the necessary knowledge on how to make waste management more sustainable. This mainly happens by upgrading an existing sanitary landfill – a landfill where all waste is isolated from the environment until it is labelled “safe” – in the town of Sremska Mitrovica. It serves both as a blueprint for future modern waste management centres in the region, and as a demonstration centre. For the demonstration centre, the project team develops a curriculum that allows to train waste management operators in sustainable waste management practices on site.

Everyone involved in the region’s waste collection and disposal processes can partake in instruction and demonstration events; these events explain how landfill modernisation can contribute to the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and environmental protection. Furthermore, activities include setting up a demo plant of, first, compost for landfill covers and, second, of fuel pellets. Such pellets can serve as an affordable source of energy for poor communities while at the same time providing a more sustainable alternative to commonly used biomass fuels, thus expecting to further reduce methane emissions by 16,65 tons annually. As a blueprint for further landfill modernisation, the project’s activities encourage the implementation of more sustainable waste management practices in the region, thus significantly reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the future.

Last update: May 2024

More about this project

[relevant_sector]

EDU-CLIC

Aufbau einer Bildungsinfrastruktur für Mitarbeitende in der Abfallwirtschaft und Deponiebetreiber zur Verringerung der Treibhausgasemissionen in der kommunalen Abfallwirtschaft in Serbien.

Hintergrund

Deponien stellen weltweit die drittgrößte anthropogene Quelle für Methanemissionen dar. Dies ist auch ein Problem in Serbien, wo die Abfallbewirtschaftung überwiegend auf Deponien beruht und damit erheblich zum nationalen Kohlenstoff-Fußabdruck beiträgt. In Serbien gibt es über 3.600 Abfalldeponien, die jährlich 60.000 Tonnen Methan freisetzen.

Landfill in Serbia

Deponie in Srem, Foto: © Regional Development Agency Srem, Serbia

Projekt

Um dieses Problem anzugehen, richtet sich das Team des EDU-CLIC-Projekts an Mitarbeitende in der Abfallwirtschaft und Betreiber von Mülldeponien und vermittelt ihnen das notwendige Wissen, um die Abfallwirtschaft nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Dies erfolgt hauptsächlich durch die Neugestaltung einer bestehenden Mülldeponie in der Stadt Sremska Mitrovica, auf der Abfälle solange von der Umwelt isoliert werden, bis sie als „sicher“ gelten. Diese Deponie dient sowohl als Vorbild für künftige moderne Abfallwirtschaftszentren in der Region als auch zu Demonstrationszwecken. Für die Demonstrationsanlage entwickelt das Projektteam einen Lehrplan, der es ermöglicht, Deponiebetreiber in nachhaltigen Abfallbewirtschaftungspraktiken vor Ort zu schulen.

Alle Personen, die in der Region mit der Abfallsammlung und -entsorgung zu tun haben, können an Schulungs- und Demonstrationsveranstaltungen teilnehmen. Dort erklärt das Projektteam, wie moderne Deponien zur Verringerung der Treibhausgasemissionen und zum Umweltschutz beitragen können. Darüber hinaus wird es eine Demonstrationsanlage zur Herstellung von Kompost für Deponieabdeckungen und von Brennstoffpellets errichten. Diese Pellets können als erschwingliche Energiequelle für arme Gemeinden dienen und stellen gleichzeitig eine nachhaltigere Alternative zu den üblichen Biomassebrennstoffen dar. In diesem Bereich sind Einsparungen der Methanemissionen um 16,65 Tonnen pro Jahr möglich. Als Blaupause für die weitere Modernisierung von Mülldeponien fördert dieses Projekt die Einführung nachhaltigerer Abfallbewirtschaftungspraktiken in der Region, wodurch die Treibhausgasemissionen in Zukunft erheblich reduziert werden können.

Projektdaten

Stand: Januar 2022

Länder: Serbien

Projektdauer: 10/21 - 01/24

Fördersumme: 462.368 €

Zielgruppen: Experten, Städte und Gemeinden, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
Faculty of Food Technology Osijek; University of Osijek

Projektpartner:
Faculty of Technical Sciences; University of Novi Sad, Regional Development Agency Srem

Ansprechpartner

Frau Natalija Velic

Organisation:
Faculty of Food Technology Osijek, University of Osijek

Adresse:
Franje Kuhača 18,
31000, Osijek
Kroatien

Email:
natalija.velicptfos.hr

EUKI

Das Projekt ist Teil des Ideenwettbewerbs der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK). Der EUKI-Ideenwettbewerb wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH umgesetzt. Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Kontakt

Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de