ENCREMENCO – Enhancing the Capacities of Regions and Municipalities to Participate in Energy Communities

A new law that establishes the framework for creating energy communities in Greece. ENCREMENCO promotes energy communities through regional campaigns that target local stakeholders at all levels and in all sectors.

Project

The ENCREMENCO project provides municipalities and local stakeholders in Greece with the necessary know-how, awareness and capacity to implement the recently adopted legislation on energy communities (L. 4513/2018). This law gives Greek municipalities the right to participate in energy communities by producing, storing, distributing and supplying their own energy using Renewable Energy Sources (RES).

Greek village at the sea

ENCREMENCO promotes local energy communities through regional campaigns. Photo: pixabay.com

ENCREMENCO anticipates running nine regional campaigns across Greece in which Greek and German stakeholders will share know-how and best practice. The campaigns will address different target groups individually (governors and mayors, municipal employees, citizens and civil society).

The overarching project goal is to increase energy efficiency and the use of RES in Greek municipalities by enabling their participation in energy communities. ENCREMENCO will therefore contribute to the fight against energy poverty, the reduction in GHG and the promotion of the social economy and welfare.

Background

The Greek Government recently introduced Law 4513/2018, which allows municipalities to participate in energy communities at a share of up to 40% (50% on the islands). This law is a key policy tool for municipalities to meet their Sustainable Energy Action Plan (SEAP) targets, but also to reduce their energy costs, improve the energy efficiency of their infrastructure and fight energy poverty by supplying low-cost energy.

Project information

Updated: March 2019

Countries: Greece

Project duration: 09/18 - 02/21

Funding: 324,587 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Public sector, Regional governments

Implementing organisation:
Centre for Renewable Energy Sources and Saving (CRES)

Project Partners:
German Cooperative and Raiffeisen Confederation (DGRV)

Project Website:
cres.gr/cres/index.html

Contact Person

Ms Louiza Papamikrouli

Organisation: Centre for Renewable Energy Sources and Saving

Adresse:
19th km Marathonos Avenue
19009 Pikermi
Greece

Email: lpapamikcres.gr

Tel: +30 210 6603395

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

ENCREMENCO – Stärkung von Regional- und Stadtverwaltungen zum Aufbau von Energiegemeinschaften

Ein neues Gesetz legt die Grundlage für die Gründung von Energiegemeinschaften in Griechenland. ENCREMENCO fördert Energiegemeinschaften durch regionale Kampagnen, die sich an lokale Stakeholder aller Ebenen und Sektoren richten.

Inhalte und Maßnahmen

Das Projekt ENCREMENCO vermittelt Kommunen und lokalen Stakeholdern in Griechenland das notwendige Know-how, das Bewusstsein sowie die Kapazitäten, um das kürzlich verabschiedete Gesetz über Energiegemeinschaften (L4513/2018) umzusetzen. Mit diesem Gesetz erhalten die griechischen Kommunen erstmals das Recht, sich an Energiegemeinschaften zu beteiligen, die ihren Energiebedarf aus erneuerbaren Energien decken und dazu Strom erzeugen, speichern, verteilen und liefern.

Griechisches Dorf über dem Meer

ENCREMENCO fördert lokale Energiegemeinschaften durch regionale Kampagnen. Foto: pixabay.com

ENCREMENCO plant die Durchführung von neun regionalen Kampagnen in allen griechischen Regionen. Im Rahmen dieser Initiative wollen griechische und deutsche Stakeholder Know-how und bewährte Praktiken austauschen. Die Kampagnen richten sich jeweils an verschiedene Zielgruppen, darunter Gouverneure und Bürgermeister, Mitarbeiter der Kommunalverwaltung, Bürger und Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft.

Das übergeordnet Ziel besteht darin, die griechischen Kommunen für eine Beteiligung an Energiegemeinschaften zu gewinnen, um die Nutzung von erneuerbaren Energien sowie Energiesparmaßnahmen voranzubringen. Das Projekt trägt damit zur Verringerung des Treibhausgasausstoßes, zur Bekämpfung der Energiearmut sowie zur Förderung der Sozialwirtschaft und der allgemeinen Wohlfahrt bei.

Hintergrund

Das griechische Parlament hat kürzlich das Gesetz 4513/2018 verabschiedet, mit dem die Kommunen das Recht erhalten, sich mit bis zu 40 % (50 % auf den griechischen Inseln) an Energiegemeinschaften zu beteiligen. Das Gesetz gibt den Kommunen ein wichtiges politisches Instrument an die Hand, um die im Aktionsplan für nachhaltige Energie (SEAP) festgelegten Ziele zu erreichen. Darüber hinaus haben die Kommunen auf der Grundlage des neuen Gesetzes jedoch auch die Möglichkeit, ihre Energiekosten zu senken, die Energieeffizienz ihrer Infrastruktur zu steigern und durch die Bereitstellung von kostengünstigen Energiedienstleistungen gegen Energiearmut vorzugehen.

Projektdaten

Stand: März 2019

Länder: Griechenland

Projektdauer: 09/18 - 02/21

Fördersumme: 324.587 €

Zielgruppen: Öffentlicher Sektor, Regionale Entscheidungsträger, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
Centre for Renewable Energy Sources and Saving (CRES)

Projektpartner:
Deutscher Genossenschafts- und Raiffeisenverband (DGRV)

Projekt Webseite: cres.gr/cres/index.html

Ansprechpartner

Frau Louiza Papamikrouli

Organisation: Centre for Renewable Energy Sources and Saving

Adresse:
19th km Marathonos Avenue
19009 Pikermi
Griechenland

Email: lpapamikcres.gr

Tel: +30 210 6603395

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil des Ideenwettbewerbs der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Der EUKI-Ideenwettbewerb wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH umgesetzt. Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de