[relevant_sector]

Europe on Rail

Goal

Promoting sustainable mobility in Europe by fostering rail transport.

Background

In the transport sector far-reaching changes are necessary to meet the EU climate targets. Rail transport plays a major role in mobility transition as it can replace a vast number of flights in a more environmentally friendly manner, especially so in Europe. However, in the past decades many long-distance train services including night trains were discontinued. As major railway connections between EU member states are rare, travelling by train is generally not a suitable alternative to long-distance passenger transport. Against this background, clear political guidelines and concrete policy initiatives are needed to foster European rail transport.

In 2020/21 there were and are special political opportunities to foster rail transport in a sustainable manner: the European Commission presented its Sustainable and Smart Mobility Strategy which is going to shape EU transport policy for the next decade. In September 2020 the EU Rail Summit took place at which the transport ministers of the EU Member States and representatives of railway companies discussed sustainable European rail transport. 2021 was designated as the European Year of Rail, in the course of which the EU will specifically promote railways as a mode of transport and specifically foster their use by citizens.

blank

Main station of Frankfurt, Germany.. (c) Markus Winkler – unsplash

Project

The project has published an EU Policy Paper on the European Year of Rail. It outlines the main challenges posed by cross-border railway passenger transport and contains policy recommendations for EU policy makers. Four national policy papers address policy makers. They illustrate cross-border railway passenger transport in Poland, France, Germany and Spain and include policy recommendations.

To participate in public consultations on the EU Sustainable Mobility Strategy, the project prepared a guide with optional answers as well as a position paper to be disseminated via various networks. The wider public was thus informed about progressive stances on railway transport, and the participation of civil society was promoted. Furthermore, at two internal workshops, Germanwatch and its partner organisations have developed a strategy to ensure the involvement of civil society in the longer term.

Policy makers, railway companies and representatives of civil society were addressed at three national workshops in Poland, Germany and Spain. The aim was to garner support for better cross-border rail transport and to encourage progressive stakeholders to act. An EU policy workshop was held with the aim of building alliances among the key actors to improve cross-border railway transport.

Project information

Updated: June 2021

Countries: France, Germany, Poland, Spain

Project duration: 08/20 - 02/21

Target groups: Civil Society, EU Institutions, Governments

Implementing organisation: Germanwatch e.V.

Partners: Civil Affairs Institute (INSPRO), Eco-union, ECODES - Ecology and Development Foundation, France Nature Environnement, Transport and Environment (T&E)

Contact Person:

Ms Lena Donat

Organisation:
Germanwatch e.V.

Address:
Stresemannstr. 72
10963 Berlin
Germany

Email:
donatgermanwatch.org

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

Europe on Rail

Die nachhaltige Mobilität in Europa durch Stärkung des Schienenverkehrs fördern.

Beitragsbild

Infos zum Projekt

Länder:

Deutschland, Frankreich, Polen, Spanien

Dauer des Projekts:

08/20 - 02/21

Zielgruppen:

-

Fördersumme:

167.050,00 €

Kontakt

Kontakt:

-

Durchführende Organisationen:
-
E-Mail:

-

Partner:
  • Ecology and Development Foundation (ECODES)
  • European Federation for Transport and Environment
  • France Nature Environnement
  • INSPRO - Institute of Civil Affairs Foundation

Hintergrund

Um die EU-Klimaziele zu erreichen, sind weitreichende Veränderungen im Transportsektor notwendig. Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Mobilitätswende leistet dabei der Schienenverkehr. Innerhalb Europas könnte durch ihn eine Vielzahl von umweltbelastenden Flugreisen ersetzt werden. Allerdings wurden in den letzten Jahrzenten viele Fernzugverbindungen, einschließlich von Nachtzügen, eingestellt. Zentrale Verbindungen zwischen den EU-Mitgliedstaaten fehlen, so dass der Schienenverkehr meist keine geeignete Transportalternative im Personenfernverkehr darstellt. Vor diesem Hintergrund bedarf es klarer politischer Vorgaben und konkreter politischer Initiativen, um den europäischen Bahnverkehr zu stärken.

In den Jahren 2020/21 sind die Weichen gestellt worden, um den Schienenverkehr politisch nachhaltig zu stärken: Die Europäische Kommission hat ihre Strategie für Nachhaltige und Intelligente Mobilität vorgelegt, die die EU-Transportpolitik für das nächste Jahrzehnt bestimmt. Im September 2020 fand der EU-Schienengipfel statt, bei dem die Verkehrsminister*innen der Mitgliedsstaaten und Vertreter*innen der Eisenbahnunternehmen über einen nachhaltigen europäischen Schienenverkehr berieten. Das Jahr 2021 wurde zum Europäischen Jahr der Schiene ernannt, in dessen Verlauf die EU die Bahn als Verkehrsmittel sowie ihre Nutzung durch Bürger*innen besonders fördert.

Der Frankfurter Hauptbahnhof, Photo: ©Markus Winkler | Unsplash

Projekt

Das Projekt hat ein EU-Policy-Paper zum Europäischen Jahr der Schiene publiziert. Es stellt die wesentlichen Herausforderungen des grenzüberschreitenden Personenschienenverkehrs dar und enthält politische Empfehlungen an EU-Politiker*innen.

Vier nationale Policy-Paper richten sich an politische Entscheidungsträger*innen. Sie stellen den grenzüberschreitenden Personenschienenverkehr in Polen, Frankreich, Deutschland und Spanien dar und beinhalten politische Empfehlungen.

Um sich an der öffentlichen Konsultation zur EU-Strategie für nachhaltige Mobilität zu beteiligen, erstellte das Projekt einen Leitfaden mit optionalen Antworten sowie ein Positionspapier und verbreitete diese über verschiedene Netzwerke. Damit wurden progressive Positionen zum Schienenverkehr einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht und die Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft gefördert. In zwei internen Workshops entwickelten Gemanwatch und die Partnerorganisationen zudem eine Strategie, mit der ein längerfristiges Engagement der Zivilgesellschaft sichergestellt werden kann.

Drei nationale Workshops in Polen, Deutschland und Spanien richteten sich an Politiker*innen, Bahnbetreiber und Vertreter*innen der Zivilgesellschaft. Ihr Ziel war, Unterstützung für die Verbesserung des grenzüberschreitenden Schienenverkehrs aufzubauen und progressive Akteur*innen zum Handeln zu bewegen. Ein EU-Policy-Workshop fand mit dem Ziel statt, Allianzen zwischen wichtigen Akteur*innen zur Verbesserung des grenzüberschreitenden Schienenverkehrs zu bilden.

Mehr zu diesem Projekt

Blog-Beiträge