Just Transition Lab

Assisting coal regions in Poland and Germany in planning their transitions in a participatory manner, thereby creating a replicable model for other coal regions.

Background

European coal regions are in the process of creating their transition plans. For several reasons, many regions struggle to make this a participatory process: lack of up-to-date information, of knowledge on available solutions, and of experience in involving all stakeholders. Yet, there is time to fill this gap, as the drafting processes of territorial just transition plans are still ongoing. This offers a good opportunity to try and test new ways for more ambitious and more democratic transition planning.

Discussing the Just Transition.

Discussing the Just Transition. Photo: (c) Polska Zielona Siec

Project

The project focuses its respective activities on two regions: Eastern Wielkopolska in Poland and Lausitz in Germany. It provides local communities with a forum for inclusive debate. The forum invites citizens to address the region’s specific problems, seek solutions, and formulate concrete project ideas. The project also offers access to policy updates, best practices, useful information, and opportunities for networking and exchange of ideas between Eastern Wielkopolska and Lausitz. Over the course of two years, the project organises a series of stakeholder meetings, workshops, and trainings addressing local governments, local businesses, miners, NGOs, and civil society representatives. Furthermore, the project organises two study visits to the respective partner country. The project communicates all relevant activities via its online channels and through media work. The project results are later presented at a final conference.

Project information

Updated: April 2021

Countries: Germany, Poland

Project duration: 10/20 - 09/22

Funding: 361,051 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Civil Society, Regional governments

Implementing organisation: Alliance of Associations Polish Green Network

Partners: Ecologic Institute gGmbH, Let's Change Konin Association, Lusatian Perspectives

Contact Person:

Ms Monika Zwierz

Organisation:
Alliance of Associations Polish Green Network

Address:
Ul. Raszyńska 32/44 lok. 140
02-026 Warsaw
Poland

Email:
monikazwierzzielonasiec.pl

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

[relevant_sector]

Just Transition Lab

Unterstützung deutscher und polnischer Kohleregionen bei der Planung eines partizipativen Kohleausstiegs und Entwicklung eines auf andere Regionen übertragbaren Konzepts.

Hintergrund

In den europäischen Kohleregionen werden derzeit Pläne für den Kohleausstieg erarbeitet. Aus verschiedenen Gründen tun sich viele Regionen schwer, diesen Prozess partizipativ zu gestalten: Es mangelt an aktuellen Informationen, an Wissen über Lösungsmöglichkeiten und an Erfahrung, wie alle Interessenvertreter*innen in den Prozess eingebunden werden können. Noch ist Zeit vorhanden diese Lücken zu schließen, weil sich die Planungsprozesse für einen gerechten Kohleausstieg in den jeweiligen Regionen hinziehen. Insofern bietet sich hier eine gute Gelegenheit, neue Wege hin zu einer ehrgeizigeren und demokratischeren Planung des Kohleausstiegs zu testen und zu beschreiten.

Diskussion über den gerechten Übergang. Foto: (c) Polska Zielona Siec

Diskussion zum gerechten Strukturwandel. Foto: (c) Polska Zielona Siec

Projekt

Bei diesem Projekt ist das Hauptaugenmerk auf zwei Regionen gerichtet: Der östliche Teil der Wielkopolska in Polen und die Lausitz in Deutschland. Das Projekt bietet den jeweiligen Kommunen ein Forum für integrative Debatten. Dieses lädt die Bürger*innen ein, die spezifischen Probleme der Region zu thematisieren, nach Lösungen zu suchen und konkrete Projektideen zu formulieren. Darüber hinaus stellt das Projekt aktuelle Strategien, bewährte Methoden, nützliche Informationen und Möglichkeiten zur Vernetzung und zum Ideenaustausch zwischen der Wielkopolska und der Lausitz bereit. Über zwei Jahre hinweg bringt das Projekt alle Interessenvertreter*innen mehrmals zusammen und arrangiert eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen, Workshops und Schulungen, zu denen lokale Regierungen, vor Ort ansässige Unternehmen, Bergleute, Nichtregierungsorganisationen und Vertreter*innen der Zivilgesellschaft eingeladen werden. Außerdem organisiert das Projekt zwei Studienreisen zum jeweiligen Partnerland. Alle relevanten Aktivitäten werden über die Online-Kanäle des Projekts und die Medien kommuniziert. Die Projektergebnisse werden auf einer Abschlusskonferenz präsentiert.

Projektdaten

Stand: April 2021

Länder: Deutschland, Polen

Projektdauer: 10/20 - 09/22

Fördersumme: 361.051 €

Zielgruppen: Regionale Entscheidungsträger, Städte und Gemeinden, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
Union der Verbände Polnisches Grünes Netzwerk

Projektpartner:
Ecologic Institut gGmbH, Lausitzer Perspektiven e.V., Stowarzyszenie Zmieniamy Konin

Ansprechpartner

Frau Monika Zwierz

Organisation:
Union der Verbände Polnisches Grünes Netzwerk

Adresse:
Ul. Raszyńska 32/44 lok. 140
02-026 Warschau
Polen

Email:
monikazwierzzielonasiec.pl

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de