Green Rural Deal

Enabling residents of rural Greece, Kosovo, and Serbia to co-create projects, tools, and instruments that support the sustainable development of their home regions.

Background

Municipalities in Europe’s rural regions face different challenges than urban regions with regards to the sustainability transformation: The shrinking and ageing of their population, a shortage of skilled workers and, simultaneously, a high level of unemployment. In these situations, the trade-off between creating jobs and saving the climate seems all too real. Green Rural Deal supports rural municipalities in building up their transformative capacities and developing suitable solutions for a zero-carbon economy.

Rural view in Kamenica, Kosovo.

Rural view in Kamenica, Kosovo. Photo: (c) Blerim Demolli

Project

A sustainability strategy requires reliable data. Therefore, the project supports local stakeholders in Western Macedonia (Greece), Kamenica (Kosovo) and Priboj (Serbia) in gathering and assessing key socioeconomic data relevant for a transition to a zero-carbon economy. As a next step, the same regional stakeholders co-create project ideas and concepts in a series of events and formats, including one study trip to a rural region in Germany. Furthermore, the partners develop tools which help to align regional economic development strategies with climate targets. Based on learnings from the three target regions, the project develops recommendations for other rural regions in similar processes. Finally, the partners develop policy briefings in order to raise awareness for rural regions among higher levels of government.

View on Priboj, Serbia.

View on Priboj, Serbia. Photo: (c) RES Foundation

Project information

Updated: April 2021

Countries: Germany, Greece, Kosovo, Serbia

Project duration: 10/20 - 12/22

Funding: 574,738 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Regional governments

Implementing organisation: Wuppertal Institute for Climate Environment and Energy

Partners: Balkan Green Foundation (BGF), Germanwatch e.V., Regional association of local government of Western Macedonia, RES Foundation

Contact Person:

Mr Timon Wehnert

Organisation:
Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Address:
Döppersberg 1
42103 Wuppertal
Germany

Email:
timon.wehnertwupperinst.org

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

Green Rural Deal

Das Projekt gibt den Bewohner*innen ländlicher Gebiete in Griechenland, Serbien und im Kosovo die Möglichkeit gemeinsam Projekte, Methoden und Instrumente zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung ihrer Heimatregionen zu entwickeln.

Hintergrund

In den ländlichen Regionen Europas stehen Kommunen beim Wandel hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit vor anderen Herausforderungen als städtische Gebiete: Sie sind oft sowohl mit einer sinkenden Einwohnerzahl und einer Überalterung der Gesellschaft als auch mit einem Fachkräftemangel bei gleichzeitig hoher Arbeitslosigkeit konfrontiert. In Anbetracht dieser Umstände ist der Zielkonflikt zwischen der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen und der Rettung des Klimas geradezu vorprogrammiert. Der Green Rural Deal unterstützt Kommunen im ländlichen Raum beim Aufbau der für eine Transformation notwendigen Kapazitäten sowie bei der Entwicklung von Lösungen für eine kohlenstofffreie Wirtschaft.

Landschaft in Kamenica, Kosovo.

Landschaft in Kamenica, Kosovo. Foto: (c) Blerim Demolli

Projekt

Für eine erfolgreiche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie sind verlässliche Daten zwingend erforderlich. Deshalb unterstützt das Projekt lokale Interessenvertreter*innen in Westmazedonien (Griechenland), Kamenica (Kosovo) und Priboj (Serbien) bei der Erfassung und Bewertung wichtiger sozioökonomischer Daten, die für den Wechsel zu einer kohlenstofffreien Wirtschaft entscheidend sind. Anschließend entwickeln dieselben regionalen Interessenvertreter*innen Veranstaltungen und Formate, wie beispielsweise eine Studienreise nach Deutschland. Die Projektpartner entwickeln Instrumente, um regionale Strategien zur Wirtschaftsentwicklung mit den Klimazielen in Einklang zu bringen. Basierend auf den in den drei Zielregionen gewonnenen Erkenntnissen, entwickelt das Projekt Empfehlungen für andere ländliche Regionen, die sich in einer ähnlichen Lage befinden. Abschließend entwickeln die Projektpartner politische Strategien, um die Belange ländlicher Regionen auf den höheren Regierungsebenen ins Bewusstsein zu rücken.

Ausblick auf Priboj, Serbien.

Ausblick auf Priboj, Serbien. Foto: (c) RES Foundation

Projektdaten

Stand: April 2021

Länder: Deutschland, Griechenland, Kosovo, Serbien

Projektdauer: 10/20 - 12/22

Fördersumme: 574.738 €

Zielgruppen: Regionale Entscheidungsträger, Städte und Gemeinden

Durchführende Organisation:
Wuppertal Institut für Klima Umwelt und Energie gGmbH

Projektpartner:
Balkan Green Foundation (BGF), Germanwatch e.V., Regionaler Verband der Kommunalverwaltungen Westmazedoniens, RES Foundation

Ansprechpartner

Herr Timon Wehnert

Organisation:
Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Adresse:
Döppersberg 1
42103 Wuppertal
Deutschland

Email:
timon.wehnertwupperinst.org

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de