[relevant_sector]

Young Energy Europe 2.0

Young Energy Europe 2.0 trains at least 485 young professionals in eight European countries to become Energy Scouts who reduce energy- and resource consumption in their companies while helping to cut costs.

Context

Energy efficiency measures and energy savings in companies pay off, especially in countries with high energy costs; that said, many countries in Central and Eastern Europe have historically had low energy costs. It is therefore necessary to carefully plan and justify investments, such as switching to LED lighting, optimising a compressed air system or installing a photovoltaic system on a company’s roof. That’s where the project comes in: Young Energy Europe trains mainly young employees to become what are known as Energy Scouts, who are tasked with identifying approaches to energy saving and implementing them as practical projects in their companies. The transfer of know-how through Young Energy Europe lays a building block on the way to the long-term goal of a climate-neutral European economy.

Young Energy Scouts in Hungary

Energy Scouts looking for energy saving potentials; Photo: © DELTAPLAST Kft.

Project

In Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Poland, Serbia and Slovakia, Young Energy Europe trains mainly young professionals from a wide range of industries to qualify as Energy Scouts. Energy Scouts learn to analyse energy consumption in their company and to collaboratively develop practical projects to reduce energy and resource consumption. The Energy Scout training programme conveys the basic principles underlying how energy consumption affects the global climate and how energy efficiency measures can reduce environmental and climate impacts while saving costs in a company. Energy Scouts are skilled in identifying individual project approaches with high savings potential and driving the implementation of efficiency-improvement projects.

Both trainees and companies benefit equally from the programme: companies can use the professional know-how of their employees to become more sustainable and save costs. The young professionals benefit both personally and professionally from the development and introduction of new ideas and solutions for their companies.

Following the successful launch of the Energy Scout training programme Young Energy Europe 1.0, four more countries – Croatia, Poland, Serbia and Slovakia – have also been offering training in their local languages since April 2021. Local partners are the German chambers of commerce abroad with their diverse business networks and experience in training and further education. In the second term, by March 2024, the aim is to train at least 485 Energy Scouts to design practical projects and thus serve as change agents in their companies.

Project information

Updated: August 2021

Countries: Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia

Project duration: 04/21 - 03/24

Funding: 2,305,831 €

Target groups: Civil Society, Companies

Implementing organisation: DIHK Service GmbH

Partners: German-Bulgarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Croatian Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Czech Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Hellenic Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Hungarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Polish Chamber of Commerce, German-Serbian Chamber of Commerce, German-Slovak Chamber of Commerce

Contact Person:

Mr Max Junghanns

Organisation:
DIHK Service GmbH

Address:
Breite Straße 29
10178 Berlin
Germany

Email:
yeedihk.de

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI) is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI call for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

Contact

European Climate Initiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10
10785 Berlin – Germany

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

[relevant_sector]

Young Energy Europe 2.0

Ziel

Young Energy Europe 2.0 bildet mindestens 485 junge Fachkräfte in acht europäischen Ländern zu Energy Scouts aus, die in ihren Unternehmen den Energie- und Ressourcenverbrauch senken und gleichzeitig helfen, Kosten zu sparen.

Hintergrund

Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen und Energieeinsparungen in Unternehmen rechnen sich vor allem in Ländern mit hohen Energiekosten; viele Länder Mittel- und Osteuropas sind jedoch historisch geprägt von niedrigen Energiekosten. Investitionen, wie die Umstellung auf LED-Beleuchtung, die Optimierung eines Druckluftsystems oder die Installation einer PV-Anlage auf dem Firmendach müssen daher gut geplant und begründet werden. Hier setzt das Projekt an: Young Energy Europe bildet zumeist junge Mitarbeiter*innen zu sogenannten Energy Scouts weiter, die Ansätze zum Energiesparen identifizieren und als Praxisprojekte in ihren Unternehmen umsetzen. Der Knowhow-Transfer durch Young Energy Europe ist ein Baustein auf dem Weg zum langfristigen Ziel einer klimaneutralen europäischen Wirtschaft.

Energy Scouts in Ungarn

Energy Scouts auf der Suche nach Energiesparmöglichkeiten; Bild © Deltaplast Kft

Projekt

Young Energy Europe bildet in Bulgarien, Griechenland, Kroatien, Polen, Serbien, der Slowakei, Tschechien und Ungarn vorrangig junge Fachkräfte aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen zu Energy Scouts aus. Energy Scouts lernen die Energieverbräuche in ihrem Unternehmen zu analysieren und entwickeln im Team Praxisprojekte, um den Energie- und Ressourcenverbrauch zu reduzieren. Das Training zum Energy Scout vermittelt Grundzusammenhänge, wie sich der Energieverbrauch auf das globale Klima auswirkt und wie Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen Umwelt- und Klimaauswirkungen reduzieren und gleichzeitig im Unternehmen Kosten sparen. Energy Scouts sind gut darin, individuelle Projektansätze mit hohem Einsparpotential zu identifizieren und die Implementierung der Effizienzprojekte voranzutreiben.

Dabei profitieren die Trainees und Unternehmen gleichermaßen vom Programm: Unternehmen können das berufliche Knowhow ihrer Mitarbeiter*innen nutzen, nachhaltiger zu werden und Kosten zu sparen. Die jungen Fachkräfte profitieren sowohl persönlich als auch beruflich von der Entwicklung und Einführung neuer Ideen und Lösungen für ihre Unternehmen.

Nach dem Erfolg der Einführung des Energy Scout-Trainings in Young Energy Europe 1.0 bieten seit April 2021 vier weitere Länder – Polen, Slowakei, Kroatien und Serbien – ebenfalls Trainings in ihrer Landessprache an. Partner vor Ort sind die deutschen Auslandshandelskammern mit Ihren breiten gefächerten Unternehmensnetzwerken und Erfahrungen in der Aus- und Weiterbildung. In der zweiten Laufzeit sollen bis März 2024 mindestens 485 Energy Scouts trainiert werden, Praxisprojekte zu konzipieren und so in ihren Unternehmen zu change agents werden.

Projektdaten

Stand: August 2021

Länder: Bulgarien, Griechenland, Kroatien, Polen, Serbien, Slowakei, Tschechische Republik, Ungarn

Projektdauer: 04/21 - 03/24

Fördersumme: 2.305.813 €

Zielgruppen: Unternehmen, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
DIHK Service GmbH

Projektpartner:
Deutsch-Bulgarische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Griechische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Kroatische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Polnische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Serbische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Slowakische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Tschechische Industrie- und Handelskammer, Deutsch-Ungarische Industrie- und Handelskammer, German-Bulgarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Czech Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Hellenic Chamber of Industry and Commerce, German-Hungarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce

Ansprechpartner

Herr Max Junghanns

Organisation:
DIHK Service GmbH

Adresse:
Breite Straße 29

10178 Berlin

Email:
yeedihk.de

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI) ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Der EUKI-Ideenwettbewerb wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH umgesetzt. Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Kontakt

Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)
Potsdamer Platz 10

10785 Berlin – Deutschland

Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de