Young Energy Europe

The first phase of Young Energy Europe is completed. The successful work has been extended to four more countries (Croatia, Poland, Serbia and Slovakia) in the follow-up project Young Energy Europe 2.0.

Young Energy Europe improved the climate protection measures of companies in Bulgaria, Greece, Hungary and the Czech Republic. Young professionals from a wide range of sectors have been trained as Energy Scouts and have contributed to monitoring and reducing energy consumption in their companies.

Economy Energy Efficiency Sustainable Economy

Beitragsbild

Project info

Countries:

Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary

Project duration:

11/17 - 03/21

Target groups:

-

Funding:

2,692,425.60 €

Contact info

Contact:

Sofie Geisel

Implementing organisation
Partner:
  • German-Bulgarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce (AHK Bulgaria)
  • German-Czech Chamber of Industry and Commerce (AHK Czechia)
  • German-Hellenic Chamber of Industry and Commerce (AHK Greece)
  • German-Hungarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce

Context

High energy and raw materials costs and increasing environmental awareness among customers and business partners along the supply chains have again caused many companies to focus more strongly on resource and energy efficiency.

For the first phase of the project, the German chambers of commerce abroad (AHKs) in Bulgaria, Greece, Hungary and the Czech Republic were offered a training module for becoming an Energy Scout for the first time.

Source: Energy efficiency workshop with young employees. © SIHK Hagen

Project

Training as an Energy Scout included a general introduction on how consumption of energy and resources impacts the global climate and how reducing consumption can help companies and the environment. Specifically, the training conveyed knowledge on how to use energy meters and how to interpret the relevant data. The Energy Scout teams primarily focused on the areas of lighting (29 projects), compressed air systems (21 projects), photovoltaics (12 projects) and system optimisation (10 projects).

Companies and Energy Scouts benefit equally from Young Energy Europe. The participating companies save costs in the long run through specific energy and resource savings in the practical projects and derive long-lasting benefits from their employees’ energy efficiency expertise. Young professionals benefit from cross-border knowledge exchange in the European Union and achieve valuable expertise.

Results

The project in figures:

  • 339 young professionals from 135 companies were trained as Energy Scouts in four countries.
  • 143 tailor-made practical projects in companies were conceived.
  • 26,600 t in potential CO2 savings per year were identified in companies.

You can find more facts, background information and best practices in the brochure  Erfolgsfaktor Energy Scout (German) or Success Factor Energy Scouts (English).

Last update: June 2024

Success Stories

Good for Resources and Finances

Young Energy Europe is enabling companies to save money but also to significantly cut their emissions. In the first year alone, 101 young employees from 41 companies in four countries have taken part in training on energy and resource efficiency, equipping them to identify energy saving potential in their own companies. Improved processes have had a beneficial financial impact in many companies, boosting the acceptability of climate change mitigation measures.

More about this project

Blog posts

news

05 August 2019

Sending Emissions on Holiday

news

23 April 2019

International Energy Scouts

news

02 July 2018

Europe's best Energy Scouts

Publications

publications

23 July 2018

Flyer: Young Energy Europe in Bulgaria

Videos

Young Energy Europe

Die erste Phase von Young Energy Europe ist abgeschlossen. Die erfolgreiche Arbeit aus diesem Projekt wurde im Nachfolgeprojekt Young Energy Europe 2.0 auf weitere vier Länder (Kroatien, Polen, Serbien und Slowakei) erweitert.

Young Energy Europe hat die Klimaschutzmaßnahmen von Unternehmen in Bulgarien, Griechenland, Ungarn und der Tschechischen Republik verbessert. Junge Fachkräfte aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen wurden zu Energy Scouts ausgebildet und haben dazu beitragen, den Energieverbrauch in ihren Unternehmen zu überwachen und zu reduzieren.

Energieeffizienz Nachhaltige Wirtschaft Wirtschaft

Beitragsbild

Infos zum Projekt

Länder:

Bulgarien, Deutschland, Griechenland, Tschechische Republik, Ungarn

Dauer des Projekts:

11/17 - 03/21

Zielgruppen:

-

Fördersumme:

2.692.425,60 €

Kontakt

Kontakt:

Sofie Geisel

Durchführende Organisationen:
Partner:
  • German-Bulgarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce (AHK Bulgaria)
  • German-Czech Chamber of Industry and Commerce (AHK Czechia)
  • German-Hellenic Chamber of Industry and Commerce (AHK Greece)
  • German-Hungarian Chamber of Industry and Commerce

Hintergrund

Hohe Energie- und Rohstoffkosten sowie eine zunehmende Umweltorientierung bei Kunden und Geschäftspartnern entlang der Lieferketten haben den Fokus vieler Unternehmen auf das Thema Ressourcen- und Energieeffizienz erneut geschärft.

Für die erste Phase des Projekts haben die Auslandshandelskammern (AHKs) in Bulgarien, Griechenland, Ungarn und der Tschechischen Republik erstmals ein Qualifizierungsmodul zum Energy Scout angeboten.

Source: Energy efficiency workshop with young employees. © SIHK Hagen

Projekt

Das Training zum Energy Scout beinhaltete eine allgemeine Einführung darüber, wie sich der Energie- und Ressourcenverbrauch auf das globale Klima auswirkt und wie seine Reduzierung Unternehmen und der Umwelt helfen kann. Konkret wurde Wissen über die Nutzung von Energiezählern und die Interpretation der entsprechenden Daten vermittelt. Die Energy-Scout-Teams fokussierten sich meist auf die Bereiche Beleuchtung (29 Projekte), Druckluftanlagen (21 Projekte), Photovoltaik (12) und Anlagenoptimierung (10 Projekte).

Unternehmen und Energy Scouts profitieren gleichermaßen von Young Energy Europe. Die teilnehmenden Unternehmen sparen langfristig Kosten durch konkrete Energie- und Ressourceneinsparungen in den Praxisprojekten und profitieren dauerhaft von der Energieeffizienz-Expertise ihrer Mitarbeiter. Junge Fachkräfte profitieren vom grenzüberschreitenden Wissensaustausch der europäischen Union und erlangen wertvolles Fachwissen.

Ergebnisse

Das Projekt in Zahlen:

  • 339 junge Fachkräfte aus 135 Unternehmen wurden in vier Ländern zu Energy Scouts ausgebildet
  • 143 maßgeschneiderte Praxisprojekte in Unternehmen wurden konzipiert
  • 600 t COEinsparpotential pro Jahr in Unternehmen wurden identifiziert

Mehr Fakten, Hintergründe und Best Practices finden sie in der Broschüre auf Deutsch: „Erfolgsfaktor Energy Scout“ oder Englisch: Success Factor Energy Scouts.

Letzte Aktualisierung: Februar 2024

Erfolgsgeschichten

Gut für Ressourcen und Finanzen

Dank Young Energy Europe sparen Unternehmen nicht nur viel Geld, sondern auch viele Emissionen. 101 junge Angestellte aus 41 Firmen in 4 Ländern nahmen alleine im ersten Jahr an den Weiterbildungen zu Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz teil und lernten Einsparpotenziale in ihren Unternehmen zu erkennen. Die verbesserten Abläufe haben in vielen Unternehmen positive finanzielle Folgen und steigern so die Akzeptanz für Klimaschutzmaßnahmen.

Mehr zu diesem Projekt

Publikationen