[relevant_sector]

EDAPHIC BLOOM DANUBE – Greenhouse Gas Mitigation in the Danube Delta

Mitigating greenhouse gas emissions in Romania’s Danube Delta by two means: conserving organic soils and enhancing energy efficiency in buildings.

Background

The project focuses on two areas that are essential to greenhouse gas (GHG) mitigation: organic soils and the built environment. Both in the European Union and worldwide, drained organic soils contribute substantially to anthropogenic GHG emissions. In the long term, a complete halt to the drainage of peatlands is required to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050. On the other hand, buildings are responsible for approximately 40 per cent of energy consumption and 36 per cent of CO2 emissions in the EU. Deep retrofit of buildings can save more than 50 per cent of the energy demand.

A passive house in the Romanian Danube delta.

Traditional house in the Romanian Danube delta. Photo: (c) DDNI

Project

EDAPHIC-BLOOM Danube develops several tools that support informed, sustainable decision-making in the areas of land use and energy efficiency.

Regarding organic soils, the project enables local climate action through the following activities: first, it offers guidance, workshops, and trainings. These provide environmental authorities and local communities with the necessary skills and knowledge to increase the capacity of organic soils and to respond to climate change effects. Second, the project develops a Master Plan (MP) and good practices guide for reducing the GHG emissions, proposing solutions for sustainable land management. Third, to disseminate the MP and good practices guide, the project sets up the “Cluster for Sustainable Development of the Lower Danube Plain and Danube Delta”. Members include project partners, local authorities, universities and research institutes from Romania and Germany, private land owners and administrators, and NGOs. The cluster creates space for efficient dialogue, exchange of good practices, awareness raising, and knowledge transfer between members. Furthermore, a dissemination plan including conferences, workshops, trainings, roundtables, and a documentary film lays out the necessary communication infrastructure to involve a wide range of stakeholders.

Regarding energy efficiency in buildings, the project ensures capacity building and knowledge exchange through various means: first, it creates a regional energy efficiency map. This provides public authorities and professionals with valuable information on the existing building stock as well as the basis for public buildings’ energy audits. Second, at least 20 professionals from the built environment sector receive training and examination for Certified Passive House Tradesperson (PHTP), according to the “Passivhaus Standard” developed in Germany. Third, the project creates an online platform to enable access to knowledge and support the development of future retrofit projects. Finally, in order to raise public awareness and include local communities, the project organises two “urban living labs” to discuss and promote sustainable energy practices and behaviours.

Project information

Updated: March 2021

Countries: Romania

Project duration: 11/20 - 01/23

Funding: 863,958 €

Target groups: Cities, towns and municipalities, Civil Society, Private sector

Implementing organisation: Danube Delta National Institute for Research and Development (DDNI)

Partners: “URBAN-INCERC” - National Institute for Research and Development in Construction Urban Planning and Sustainable Spatial Development, Dep. of Wetland Ecology Institute for Geography and Geoecology - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), General Secretariat of the Romanian Government - Department for Sustainable Development, National Research and Development Institute for Soil Science Agrochemistry and Environment - ICPA Bucharest, Romanian Ministry of Environment Waters and Forests, Steinbeis Danube Center, Tulcea Municipality, University of Applied Sciences Karlsruhe - Geo Information - Management

Contact Person:

Mr Iulian Nichersu

Organisation:
Danube Delta National Institute for Research and Development (DDNI)

Address:
165 Babadag Street
820112 Tulcea
Romania

Email:
iulian.nichersuddni.ro

EUKI

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

The European Climate Initiative (EUKI):

This project is part of the European Climate Initiative (EUKI). EUKI is a project financing instrument by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). The EUKI competition for project ideas is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. It is the overarching goal of the EUKI to foster climate cooperation within the European Union (EU) in order to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information on the EUKI: www.euki.de

EDAPHIC BLOOM DANUBE – Minderung von Treibhausgasen im Donautal

Verringerung der Treibhausgasemissionen im rumänischen Donautal: Durch die Bewahrung der natürlichen Bodensubstanz einerseits – und die Steigerung der Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden andererseits.

Hintergrund

Das Hauptaugenmerk des Projekts liegt auf zwei Bereichen, die bei der Reduktion von Treibhausgasemissionen eine wichtige Rolle spielen: Die organische Bodensubstanz sowie die Bebauung der Landschaft.  Entwässerte organische Böden sind sowohl in der Europäischen Union als auch weltweit ein wesentlicher Faktor bei anthropogenen Treibhausgasemissionen. Um das für 2050 gesteckte Ziel von Netto-Null Emissionen erreichen zu können, muss die Entwässerung von Torfböden langfristig vollständig aufgegeben werden. Andererseits fallen etwa 40 Prozent des Energieverbrauchs und 36 Prozent der CO2-Emissionen in der EU in Gebäuden an. Durch eine tiefgreifende Nachrüstung im Gebäudesektor könnte der Energiebedarf um mehr als 50 Prozent gesenkt werden.

Ein Passivhaus im rumänischen Donautal.

Traditionelles Haus im rumänischen Donautal. Foto: (c) DDNI

Projekt

EDAPHIC-BLOOM Danube führt eine Reihe an Maßnahmen durch, die fundierte und nachhaltige Entscheidungen zur Landnutzung und Energieeffizienz im rumänischen Donautal ermöglichen.

Das Projekt organisiert lokale Klimaschutzmaßnahmen zum Erhalt der organischen Bodensubstanz und bietet Beratung, Workshops und Schulungen an. Dadurch werden Umweltbehörden und Kommunen die notwendigen Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse vermittelt, um die Aufnahmefähigkeit von organischen Böden zu erhöhen und auf die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels zu reagieren. Zweitens entwickelt das Projekt einen Masterplan und einen Leitfaden für bewährte Methoden zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen mit Lösungsvorschlägen für ein nachhaltiges Landmanagement. Zur weiteren Verbreitung des Masterplans und des Leitfadens für gute Methoden gründet das Projekt anschließend den „Cluster für nachhaltige Entwicklung der unteren Donauebene und des Donaudeltas“. Zu den Mitgliedern zählen Projektpartner, lokale Behörden, Universitäten und Forschungsinstitute aus Rumänien und Deutschland, private Landbesitzer und Verwalter sowie Nichtregierungsorganisationen. Der Cluster eröffnet Möglichkeiten zu einem effizienten Dialog, dem Austausch von guten Methoden sowie der Bewusstseinsbildung und Vermittlung von Wissen zwischen den Mitgliedern. Außerdem erstellt das Projekt einen Plan, wie anhand von Konferenzen, Workshops, Schulungen, Runden Tischen und eines Dokumentarfilms ein breites Spektrum von Interessengruppen adressiert und einbezogen werden kann.

Im Hinblick auf die Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden gewährleistet das Projekt anhand verschiedener Maßnahmen die Kompetenzbildung und den Wissensaustausch: Zunächst wird eine regionale Energieeffizienzkarte erstellt. Diese bietet Behörden und Fachleuten nicht nur wertvolle Informationen zum Gebäudebestand, sondern ist auch Grundlage für die Energieaudits von öffentlichen Gebäuden. Danach erhalten mindestens 20 Fachleute aus dem Bereich Landschaftsbebauung eine Ausbildung samt Prüfung zum/zur zertifizierten Passivhaus-Fachhandwerker*in gemäß dem in Deutschland entwickelten „Passivhaus-Standard“. Anschließend entwickelt das Projekt eine Online-Plattform, um den Zugang zu Wissen zu ermöglichen und die Entwicklung zukünftiger Nachrüstungsprojekte zu unterstützen.  Zu guter Letzt richtet das Projekt zwei „Labore für urbanes Wohnen“ ein, in denen nachhaltige Energiepraktiken und Verhaltensweisen besprochen und gefördert werden, um somit die Öffentlichkeit für das Thema zu sensibilisieren und lokale Kommunen einzubeziehen.

Projektdaten

Stand: March 2021

Länder: Rumänien

Projektdauer: 11/20 - 01/23

Fördersumme: 863.958 €

Zielgruppen: Privatwirtschaft, Städte und Gemeinden, Zivilgesellschaft

Durchführende Organisation:
Nationales Donautal-Institut für Forschung und Entwicklung (DDNI)

Projektpartner:
Abteilung Aueninstitut Rastatt - Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie (KIT), Hochschule Karlsruhe – Technik und Wirtschaft, Nationales Forschungs- und Entwicklungsinstitut für Bodenkunde Agrochemie und Umwelt - ICPA Bukarest, Rumänisches Ministerium für Umwelt Wasser und Wälder

Ansprechpartner

Herr Iulian Nichersu

Organisation:
Nationales Donautal-Institut für Forschung und Entwicklung (DDNI)

Adresse:
165 Babadag Straße
820112 Tulcea
Rumänien

Email:
iulian.nichersuddni.ro

EUKI

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI):

Potsdamer Platz 10,
10117 Berlin – Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0)30 338424 570
infoeuki.de

Die Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI)

Das Projekt ist Teil der Europäischen Klimaschutzinitiative (EUKI). Die EUKI ist ein Finanzierungsinstrument des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU). Übergeordnetes Ziel der EUKI ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Europäischen Union (EU) zur Senkung von Treibhausgasemissionen.

Weitere Informationen über EUKI: www.euki.de